Image for Arcade Fire, Bon Iver & Lou Reed Record New Tracks For Peter Gabriel Covers Album

Arcade Fire, Bon Iver & Lou Reed Record New Tracks For Peter Gabriel Covers Album

Written by Sarah Bella on July 27, 2013

Arcade Fire, Lou Reed, David Byrne, Bon Iver, Brian Eno and a host of other artists will be giving ol’ Peter Gabriel the covers treatment, with an album featuring reworked songs of the Sledgehammer hitmaker entitled And I’ll Scratch Yours set for release this spring.

The album is a sequel of sorts to Scratch My Back, a 2010 cover album by Gabriel, where he recorded his version of tracks by mainly the same artists. The 63-year-old released a statement on his website explaining the concept:

“Rather than make a traditional covers record, I thought it would be much more fun to create a new type of project in which artists communicated with each other and swapped a song for a song, i.e. you do one of mine and I’ll do one of yours, hence the title.”

Radiohead and Neil Young were unfortunately unable to return the favour and contribute a song to And I’ll Scratch Yours, but Feist and Joseph Arthur have stepped up to fill the void, covering Shock The Monkey and Don’t Give Up respectively. Expected highlights from the album include Arcade Fire’s version of Games Without Frontiers and Lou Reed’s almost unrecognisable take on Solsbury Hill.

And I’ll Scratch Yours is released on 23rd September and will be available both as a standalone album and as a double CD with Scratch My Back, as the man himself intended.

(via Hitfix)

Scratch My Back Tracklisting

David Byrne – I Don’t Remember

Bon Iver – Come Talk to Me

Regina Spektor – Blood of Eden

Stephin Merritt – Not One of Us

Joseph Arthur – Shock the Monkey

Randy Newman – Big Time

Arcade Fire – Games Without Frontiers

Elbow – Mercy Street

Brian Eno – Mother of Violence

Feist feat. Timber Timbre – Don’t Give Up

Lou Reed – Solsbury Hill

Paul Simon – Biko

Join Music Feeds on Facebook

monitoring_string = "5ddc797c5ea15f4a20f5b456893873a5"