Image for Bluejuice Are Breaking Up, But Not Before A Farewell Tour

Bluejuice Are Breaking Up, But Not Before A Farewell Tour

Written by Tom Williams on August 4, 2014

Bluejuice are officially calling it quits at the end of 2014. The ever-so-quirky Sydney group have announced a new single, a greatest hits compilation and the national Retrospectable farewell tour to celebrate their 13 years together.

Speaking with triple j‘s Matt Okine and Alex Dyson, Bluejuice’s Jake Stone and Stavros Yiannoukas said that the time had come for them to go “out on a high note”.

“It’s been 13 years,” Jake said. “And we don’t want to be a shit band and we don’t want to hang on until you lose interest in us. So we’re releasing one new song, and we’re punching as hard as we ever did. It’s not the worst thing that’s ever going to happen. We’re not dead yet.”

“It’s over. We’re going on a farewell tour. Maybe we might sneak in a festival show,” Stavros added. “There are a lot of chances to see us before the end of the year.”

Bluejuice’s retrospective record, Retrospectable, will pull together highlights from the band’s 3 studio albums, Problems, Head of the Hawk and Company, which was the band’s last full-length release. The album will also feature some new material, and what the band are calling “some extra treats and pleasures”.

Retrospectable is being foreshadowed by the release of new single I’ll Go Crazy, which was produced by Dann Hume (Sticky Fingers, Alpine) and co-written by Alex Burnett (Sparkadia) and Jake Stone.

I’ll Go Crazy is out now via iTunes. Retrospectable will see its release on 19th September. Bluejuice’s last headline tour, Retrospectable: The Farewell Tour, will be the group’s last hurrah. Full tour details below.

UPDATE 14/08/14: Due to overwhelming demand, Bluejuice have sold out a handful of their farewell shows added a whole bunch of extra dates to their national tour. See the updated tour schedule below.

Gallery: Bluejuice – Big Day Out 2014, Sydney 26/01/14

Photos by Olivia Hadisaputra

New Bluejuice Retrospectable Farewell Tour Dates
Tickets on sale 9am August 15th

Wednesday, 24th September 2014
Uni Bar, Adelaide
Tix: Oztix

Wednesday, 1st October 2014
Sol Bar Maroochydore
Tix: Oztix

Wednesday, 8th October 2014
Federation University, Gippsland Campus
Tix: Oztix / MUGSU

Thursday, 9th October 2014
The Hi-Fi, Melbourne
Tix: Oztix

Sunday, 26th October 2014
Metro Theatre, Sydney
Tix: Ticketek

Thursday, 6th November 2014
Movidas, Mackay
Tix: Oztix

Friday, 7th November 2014
The Venue, Townsville
Tix: Ticketek

Saturday, 8th November 2014
The Jack, Cairns
Tix: Oztix

Already Announced Bluejuice – Retrospectable Farewell Tour Dates
Tickets on sale now

Thursday, 25th September 2014SOLD OUT
Uni Bar, Adelaide
Tix: Via Oztix

Friday, 26th September 2014
Capitol, Perth
Tix: Via Oztix

Saturday, 27th September 2014
Red Earth Arts Festival, Karratha
Tix: Via REAF

Thursday, 2nd October 2014
Hi-Fi, Brisbane
Tix: Via Oztix

Friday, 3rd October 2014
Coolangatta Hotel, Coolangatta
Tix: Via Oztix

Saturday, 4th October 2014
Great Northern Hotel, Byron Bay
Tix: Via Oztix

Friday, 10th October 2014SOLD OUT
Hi-Fi, Melbourne
Tix: Via Oztix

Saturday, 11th October 2014
Hi-Fi, Melbourne (Under 18’s only Matinee show 12-3pm)
Tix: Via Oztix

Saturday, 11th October 2014
Village Green Hotel, Mulgrave
Tix: Via Village Green Hotel and Ticketmaster

Sunday, 12th October 2014
Barwon Club, Geelong
Tix: Via Oztix

Friday, 17th October 2014
Waves, Wollongong
Tix: Via Moshtix

Saturday, 18th October 2014
ANU Bar, Canberra
Tix: Via Ticketek

Thursday, 23rd October 2014
Bar On The Hill, Newcastle
Tix: Via Big Tix

Friday, 24th October 2014SOLD OUT
Metro Theatre, Sydney (Lic / All Ages)
Tix: Via Ticketek

Join Music Feeds on Facebook

monitoring_string = "5ddc797c5ea15f4a20f5b456893873a5"