Image for Carus Thompson Releases New Album ‘Caravan’, Tours

Carus Thompson Releases New Album ‘Caravan’, Tours

Written by Barnaby Smith on March 29, 2011

Wandering Australian singer-songwriter Carus Thompson is gearing up for the release of his latest album Caravan, out April 1 through MGM.

Thompson, a folkish sort, is something of a nomadic soul, and recorded the album in England, Australia and Germany. Thompson peddles himself as a truly ‘independent’ artist, and has managed the feat of selling 30,000 records without a mainstream label. A constant tourer, Thompson has supported the likes of Dave Matthews, Damien Rice, John Butler and The Waifs. In addition, he has opened for UK folk pin-up boy Seth Lakeman, who Thompson has managed to get to play on Caravan.

Thompson says of the album, “Despite the name, to me this record is not just a ‘road album’ of songs about lonely hotel rooms and drunken late nights in bars, though there was plenty of that. Writing this album on the road in such periods of isolation meant that whilst the songs reflect the people and stories that I’ve come across on the road, it also really expresses how I feel as a person to have arrived here at this point in my life.

He will embark on an Australian tour in support of the new album this April and May, the dates are below.

Wednesday April 6, The Zoo, Brisbane QLD

Friday April 8, Brass Monkey, Cronulla NSW

Saturday April 9, The Great Northern Hotel, Newcastle NSW

Sunday April 10, The Vanguard, Sydney NSW

Thursday April 14, Drouin Bowling Club, Drouin VIC

Friday April 15, The Pelican Bar (Pier Live), Frankston, VIC

Saturday April 16, The Corner Hotel, Melbourne, VIC

Sunday April 24, Republic Bar, Hobart TAS

Wednesday April 27, The Grace Emily, Adelaide SA

Friday May 6, Settler’s Tavern, Margaret River WA

Saturday May 7, Fly By Night Club, Fremantle WA

Join Music Feeds on Facebook

monitoring_string = "5ddc797c5ea15f4a20f5b456893873a5"