Image for Charlie Parr Announces January 2010 Australian Tour

Charlie Parr Announces January 2010 Australian Tour

Written by Toby Smith on November 5, 2009

Duluth, Minnesota’s king of the rollicking blues stomp CHARLIE PARR returns to Australia in January 2010, showcasing songs from his seventh album, Roustabout.

Having delighted and astonished audiences across the country on tour with Paul Kelly in April 2009, Charlie now heads off on his first headline East Coast tour. With a fantastic gift for an onstage yarn, and sparks flying off his prized National resonator, 12-string guitar and banjo as he delivers rousing, freewheeling performances from his own extensive song catalogue and the country blues canon, Charlie is on his way to becoming Australia’s new favourite bluesman.

Roustabout is a field recording in true monophonic sound recorded in a variety of locations including living rooms, garages, bar room basements, and empty storefronts throughout his home state. Drawing influence from the rural music of the 1920s – rags, blues, and folk – Parr’s songs tackle a litany of human miseries and occasional joys from a sharply modern vantage: aging, death, loneliness, god, regret and love.

Don’t miss out on the renowned Charlie Parr live show of scratched up, low-down thumping American folk music when he returns this January.

Tue 5th CANBERRA

Front Cafe/Gallery Wattle St, Lyneham (02) 6249 8453 $17+bf / $20 door www.oztix.com.au

Wed 6th TOMERONG
Tomerong Hall Hawken Road, Tomerong (02) 4443 6384 http://www.tomerong.org $17 + bf / $20 door

Thu 7th BULLI
Heritage Hotel 240 Princes Hwy Bulli (02) 4284 5884 www.heritagehotel.com.au $22 + bf / $25 door (02) 4284 5884

Fri 8th SYDNEY
The Basement 29 Reiby Place Circular Quay (02) 9251 2797 www.thebasement.com.au $25 + bf / $30 door (02) 9251 2797 / www.moshtix.com.au

Sat 9th KATOOMBA
The Clarendon Guesthouse 68 Lurline St Katoomba (02) 4782 1322 www.clarendonguesthouse.com.au $22 + bf /$25 door

Tue 12th CRONULLA
The Brass Monkey 115a Cronulla Street Cronulla (02) 9544 3844 www.brassmonkey.com.au $22 + bf /$25 door (02) 9544 3844

Wed 13th MAITLAND
The Junkyard 88 Church St, Maitland, NSW (02) 4933 5242 http://www.myspace.com/junkyardmaitland Bookings (02) 4933 5242

Thu 14th PORT MACQUARIE
Macquarie Hotel Cnr Horton & Clarence Streets, Port Macquarie (02) 6580 7888 http://www.macquariehotel.com.au Bookings (02) 6580 7888

Fri 15th GOLD COAST
Sound Lounge Currumbin RSL (upstairs), Currumbin Creek Rd, Currumbin Gold Coast 07 55 34 7999 http://www.thesoundlounge.com.au/ $20 + bf / $25 door

Sat 16th BRISBANE
The Zoo 711 Ann Street, Fortitude Valley (07) 3854 1381 www.thezoo.com.au $22+bf / $25 door zoo.oztix.com.au

Wed 20th GEELONG
The National 195 Moorabool St, Geelong (03) 5229 1211 www.nationalhotel.com.au $17+bf / $20 door http://nationalhotel.oztix.com.au

Thu 21st MELBOURNE
The Corner 57 Swan St, Richmond (03) 9427 9198 www.cornerhotel.com $22 + bf / $25 door (03) 9427 9198

Fri 22nd BALLARAT
Karova Lounge Cnr Field & Camp Sts, Ballarat (03) 5332 9122 www.karovalounge.com $17+bf / $20 door http://karovalounge.oztix.com.au

Sat 23rd SOUTH GIPPSLAND
Mossvale Park, Strezlecki Highway, South Gippsland www.lyrebirdartscouncil.com.au $50+bf

Join Music Feeds on Facebook

monitoring_string = "5ddc797c5ea15f4a20f5b456893873a5"