Image for Clare Bowditch “The Start of War” Tour Announced

Clare Bowditch “The Start of War” Tour Announced

Written by Daniel Clarke on August 10, 2009

The Start of War, hey? The first taste from a new album is meant to set the tone of what’s to follow, and that’s exactly what Clare Bowditch’s new song “The Start of War” achieves, in a very dramatic way.

In late 2008 Clare slayed a European tour with fellow Aussie and ARIA winner, Gotye, and then set up shop in that greatest of artistic cities, Berlin. After a chance encounter, Clare happened to rent the apartment of producer Mocky, most famous for his work on Feist’s “The Reminder” album (as well as working with Peaches, Jamie Lidell, Gonzales, and a host of others). By day she wrote songs on Mocky’s piano (with Feist’s triple-platinum album award sitting above her) and by night, she and her Casio performed in hidden underground bars in the lost parts of Berlin, refining her sound for the morning to come.

To celebrate the September release of the single “The Start of War” at her new home Island Records Australia, Clare and her newly expanded entourage (you won’t believe it ‘till you see it!) will do a limited run of shows in unusual and often intimate venues, giving audiences a taste of what Berlin (and a Casio) have inspired.

Saturday September 19 – Indie Music Fest, Albury NSW

Sunday September 20 – Blueprint Festival, Ararat VIC

Saturday September 26 – Sounds of Spring Festival, Brisbane QLD

Sunday September 27 – A&I Hall, Bangalow NSW
Tix: from Barebones, Bangalow; Mullum Books; All Music & Vision – Ballina, Byron & Lismore and online

Friday October 2 – Sydney (see for details) NSW
Tix: RSVP to

Saturday October 3 – Sydney (see for details) NSW
Tix: RSVP to

Thursday October 8 – Albany Theatre, Albany WA
Tix: Theatre Box office – 08 9844 2222 and online at

Friday October 9 – Bamboo @ Luxe, Perth WA

Saturday October 10 – Moores Art Space, Fremantle WA

Friday October 16 – Adelaide Zoo, Adelaide SA

Friday October 23 – The Thornbury Theatre, Melbourne, VIC

Friday November 6 – Moorilla Estate, Hobart TAS
Tix: or at Moorilla, ph: 03 6277 9900

Sunday November 8 – Bitter and Twisted Festival, Maitland NSW
Tix: or call (02) 4931 2888

Join Music Feeds on Facebook

monitoring_string = "5ddc797c5ea15f4a20f5b456893873a5"