Image for New Album From The War On Drugs

New Album From The War On Drugs

Written by Barnaby Smith on May 10, 2011

Philadelphia’s finest rockers The War on Drugs have released details of their new album Slave Ambient, due out on August 16 (in the US) through Secretly Canadian.

Pitchfork reports that this will be the band’s second full-length album, and first since their 2008 debut, Wagonwheel Blues, although they did put out an EP, Future Weather, in 2010. The band have also been watching their former member Kurt Vile court the hipster indie crowd with his latest album, Smoke Ring For My Halo. Bass player Dave Hartley, still in the band, also recently put out a record last year under the moniker of Nightlands, called Forget The Mantra.

Slave Ambient was recorded in Asheville, North Carolina and at the home of War on Drugs singer Adam Granduciel. A tracklist can be found below.

The War On Drugs formed back in 2003, which makes the fact they have only released one album until now a little surprising. The band underwent some serious personnel change after the release of Wagonwheel Blues, when Vile and two others parted ways with the band.

01 Best Night

02 Brothers

03 I Was There

04 Your Love Is Calling My Name

05 The Animator

06 Come to the City

07 Come For It

08 It’s Your Destiny

09 City Reprise #12

10 Baby Missiles

11 Original Slave

12 Black Water Falls



Join Music Feeds on Facebook

monitoring_string = "5ddc797c5ea15f4a20f5b456893873a5"