Image for PREMIERE: British India – ‘Suddenly’ VideoImage via YouTube

PREMIERE: British India – ‘Suddenly’ Video

Written by Mitch Feltscheer on April 9, 2015

Ahead of their upcoming national tour, Aussie alt-rock outfit British India today premiere Suddenly, their latest music video from recent album Nothing Touches Me, and Music Feeds is proud to bring it to you first.

There appears to be no slowing down for the Melbourne lads who, after a decade of making music together just released their fifth studio album to, once again, critical and commercial acclaim, with a number five spot on the ARIA Album Chart, alongside rave reviews.

Directed by Jessica Lawton, the new clip sees a lone man making a break from his sheltered, country homestead and heading for the bright lights and soy lattes of Melbourne, meeting a horny spinster, some creepy arse kids, an Arcade Fire cover band (?) and a man and his donkey, along the way.

Lawton tells Music Feeds the idea for the video was born from an unusual story that came across her path:

“The idea for ‘Suddenly’ came about whilst reading an article about a small group of Israeli families planning to set up a kibbutz on the fringe of Melbourne. This setting was instantly fascinating and the character of Velvel, about to fly out into the world with nothing but romanticised ideas of what might lay beyond the closed gates of his Kibbutz, seemed the perfect character to explore the track with, steering away from any totally literal translations that could have been made.”

British India’s Nothing Touches Me Tour kicks off around this big brown land next week, hitting the major cities and plenty of regional spots as well. Check the dates and deets below. Complimentary donkey valet parking is available at all shows (this may be a lie).

Watch: British India – Suddenly

Nothing Touches Me Tour

Supported by Grenadiers, with special guests Tired Lion from 15th to 30th May. Alice Springs and Darwin shows supported by Unbroken Expanse.

Thursday, 16th April 2015

The Gap View Hotel, Alice Springs

Tickets: Oztix

Friday, 17th April 2015

Discovery, Darwin

Tickets: Oztix

Saturday, 18th April 2015

The Gov, Adelaide

Tickets: Oztix

Thursday, 23rd April 2015

Paddy’s, Albury

Tickets: Oztix

Friday, 24th April 2015

Romano’s, Wagga Wagga

Tickets: At the door

Saturday, 25th April 2015

Area Hotel, Griffith

Tickets: Oztix

Friday, 1st May 2015

Sound Lounge, Gold Coast

Tickets: Oztix

Saturday, 2nd May 2015

Urban Music Festival, Caboolture

Thursday, 7th May 2015

Club 54, Launceston

Tickets: Oztix

Friday, 8th May 2015

Republic Bar, Hobart

Tickets: Oztix

Saturday, 9th May 2015

Republic Bar, Hobart

Tickets: Oztix

Friday, 15th May 2015

Dunsborough Tavern, Dunsborough

Tickets: Oztix

Saturday, 16th May 2015

Capitol, Perth

Tickets: Oztix

Sunday, 17th May 2015

Newport, Fremantle

Tickets: Oztix

Friday, 22nd May 2015

Metro Theatre, Sydney

Tickets: Metro Theatre

Saturday, 23rd May 2015

Cambridge, Newcastle

Tickets: Oztix

Friday, 29th May 2015

170 Russell, Melbourne

Tickets: Oztix

Saturday, 30th May 2015

Workers Club, Melbourne

Tickets: Oztix

Join Music Feeds on Facebook

monitoring_string = "5ddc797c5ea15f4a20f5b456893873a5"