Image for Rockabilly Queen Rosie Flores Gears Up For Aussie Tour

Rockabilly Queen Rosie Flores Gears Up For Aussie Tour

Written by Barnaby Smith on March 15, 2011

Sixty-year-old grand dame of rockabilly Rosie Flores has announced details of her first Australian tour in 12 years.

The eight-date tour of the East Coast includes appearances at the Blue Mountains Festival, the Brunswick Music Festival and the Apollo Bay Music Festival. Flores is touring in support of latest album Girl Of The Century, which came out in 2009.

The Austin, Texas-based singer made her mark as a country singer in the late 80s before moving in a more rockabilly direction after artists such a Wanda Jackson (who she has toured with) and Janis Martin found success in the genre, so says Undercover.fm.

Flores has released 12 studio albums and is so loved in her home town that in 2006 mayor of Austin Will Wynn proclaimed August 31 of that year ‘Rosie Flores Day’.

The Australian dates are:

Wednesday March 16 – The Basement, Sydney, NSW
Thursday March 17 – The Brass Monkey, Cronulla, NSW
Friday March 18 to Sunday March 20 – The Blue Mountains Festival, Blue Mountains, NSW
Thursday March 24 and Saturday March 26 – Brunswick Music Festival, Brunswick, VIC
Friday March 25 – Theatre Royal, Castlemaine, VIC
Saturday April 2 – Harmony Row Winery, Kyneton, VIC
Friday April 8 to Sunday April 10 – Apollo Bay Music Festival, Apollo Bay, VIC
Thursday April 14 – Caravan Music Club, Oakleigh, VIC

Join Music Feeds on Facebook

monitoring_string = "5ddc797c5ea15f4a20f5b456893873a5"