Image for Stellar Line-up For Melbourne Festival 2011

Stellar Line-up For Melbourne Festival 2011

Written by Barnaby Smith on July 12, 2011

The contemporary music line-up for the Melbourne Festival 2011 has been unveiled, with the likes of Okkervil River, Lucky Dragons, Bachelorette, Aesop Rock, Kimya Dawson, the Dead Kennedys named as well as a special performance from noisy Japanese legends MONO, accompanied by a 23-piece orchestra to recreate their famous Holy Ground performance.

The Melbourne festival runs from October 7 – 22. Other artists include Jello Biafra, Rat Vs Possum, Wintercoats, Roller One, Qua, Geoffrey O’Connor, Jimmy Stewart and Mike Noga. Okkervil River frontman Will Sheff will also perform a solo show. The Narcicyst and Omar Offendum are also playing, as are Konono No.1 and Sulumi.

The line-up is:

The Forum
Friday October 7, MONO (Japan), Wintercoats (Australia)
Saturday October 8, Black Dice (USA), Lucky Dragons (USA)
Friday October 14, Okkervil River (USA), Roller One (Australia)
Saturday October 15, Aesop Rock, Kimya Dawson ft Rob Sonic & DJ Big Wiz (USA), The Narcicyst (Iraq), Omar Offendum (Syria)
Friday October 21, Konono No.1 (Democratic Republic of the Congo), Bachelorette (New Zealand)
Saturday October 22, Jello Biafra (USA)

Meeniyan Town Hall Visit
Saturday October 15, Okkervil River (USA)

The Toff in Town
Sunday October 9, Sulumi (China), Qua (Australia)
Wednesday October 12, Lucky Dragons (USA), Geoffrey O’Connor (Australia)
Sunday October 16, Will Sheff (USA), Jimmy Stewart (Australia), Mike Noga (Australia)
Wednesday October 19, Bachelorette (New Zealand), Rat Vs Possum (Australia)

Ticket prices vary, visit melbournefestival.com.au for full details

Join Music Feeds on Facebook

monitoring_string = "5ddc797c5ea15f4a20f5b456893873a5"