Image for The Flaming Lips New Album ‘The Terror’ Out April

The Flaming Lips New Album ‘The Terror’ Out April

Written by Marc Zanotti on January 25, 2013

The Flaming Lips have announced their new album The Terror will be out at the beginning of April, with a US release date of 2nd April. As reported by Pitchfork, The Terror is a 9-track LP produced by Dave Fridmann (Weezer, Tame Impala) and The Flaming Lips.

A new non-album track titled Sun Blows Up Today will be released on 29th January to coincide with the beginning of the album digital pre-order. Sun Blows Up Today will also be heard in a Hyundai commercial featuring The Flaming Lips themselves, which is scheduled to air during the Super Bowl.

In a press release about The Terror, the first studio album proper from The Flaming Lips since 2009’s Embryonic, frontman Wayne Coyne tries to explain why the band made a “bleak, disturbing record”.

“Why would we make this music that is The Terror?… I don’t really want to know the answer that I think is coming – that WE were hopeless, WE were disturbed and, I think, accepting that some things are hopeless… or letting hope in one area die so that hope can start to live in another? Maybe this is the beginning of the answer.”

“We want, or wanted, to believe that without love we would disappear, that love, somehow, would save us that, yeah, if we have love, give love and know love, we are truly alive and if there is no love, there would be no life. The Terror is, we know now, that even without love, life goes on… we just go on… there is no mercy killing.”

The Flaming Lips – The Terror

01 Look…The Sun Is Rising
02 Be Free, A Way
03 Try To Explain
04 You Lust
05 The Terror
06 You Are Alone
07 Butterfly, How Long It Takes To Die
08 Turning Violent
09 Always There…In Our Hearts

Join Music Feeds on Facebook

monitoring_string = "5ddc797c5ea15f4a20f5b456893873a5"