Image for Throwing Muses Release 25th Aniversary Compilation

Throwing Muses Release 25th Aniversary Compilation

Written by Brayden Darke on June 30, 2011

Throwing Muses will release their first ever compilation to celebrate the 25th anniversary of the band’s 1986 self-titled debut album release. The compilation will be titled Anthology and will be released on September 5th.

The compilation will have a twenty-one track selection that eschews most of the singles in favour of personal favourites, and enjoys a non-chronological sequence, which makes for interesting juxtapositions and encourages a reassessment of the music. The initial limited release comes in a hardback book with a bonus twenty-two track CD of B-sides and rarities.

Founding member Kristin Hersh had this to say ”It’s beautiful and substantial, thanks to awesome David Narcizo / Lakuna Design – a chunky, 28 page hardcover booklet and two CDs – one CD consisting of a hand-selected retrospective track-list by Kristin, David and Bernard, and on the other the collected B-sides, including the original Lonely is an Eyesore version of ‘Fish’, the long-lost ‘Hillbilly’ and the original version of ‘Back Road (Matter of Degrees)’. And yes, the release will be supported by Throwing Muses live dates.”


Disc One:

1. Garoux Des Larmes

2. Finished

3. A Feeling

4. Marriage Tree

5. Fish

6. Hate My Way

7. No Way In Hell

8. Colder

9. Tar Kissers

10. Mr. Bones

11. Limbo

12. Summer St.

13. Furious

14. Bright Yellow Gun

15. Pretty or Not

16. Flying

17. You Cage

18. Two Step

19. Vicky’s Box

20. Mania

21. Cry Baby Cry

Disc Two

1. Hillbilly

2. Same Sun

3. Amazing Grace

4. Cottonmouth

5. Cry Baby Cry

6. Manic Depression

7. Snailhead

8. City of the Dead

9. Jak

10. Ride Into The Sun

11. Handsome Woman

12. Like A Dog

13. Crayon Sun

14. Red Eyes

15. Tar Moochers

16. Serene Swing

17. Limbobo

18. If

19. Heel Toe

20. Take (Live)

21. Finished (Live)

22. Back Road (Matter of Degrees)

Join Music Feeds on Facebook

monitoring_string = "5ddc797c5ea15f4a20f5b456893873a5"