Image for Tim Hart Releases ‘Hartfelt’ Debut Album ‘Milling The Wind’

Tim Hart Releases ‘Hartfelt’ Debut Album ‘Milling The Wind’

Written by Mike Hohnen on July 16, 2012

Tim Hart is a name you may remember as the drummer, chief backing vocalist and occasional banjoist for indie breakthrough band Boy and Bear. Previously, Hart’s solo aspirations had to be put to the back burner of the five times ARIA-winning outfit until now.

Milling the Wind is an 18-month accumulation of everything Hart has ever wanted to record as a solo performer, having begun in that direction prior to the formation of the band. With motif’s such as his childhood, religion, family, love, and heartbreak, the album is deeply personal, though the themes are conveyed in such a way that they aren’t 100% direct to Hart’s life, giving listeners a one-size-fits-all album everyone can relate to.

The first single from the release, A Number of Us, has already had some time to air. Take a Bo Peep below. Though don’t worry, this doesn’t mean Boy and Bear are no more. Commenting on the album, Hart has said “This was always in the pipeline, this was the right time, and there was a real openness to it within the band – Killian [Gavin, guitar] recorded my demos, my brother Jon [keys/mandolin] came up and took photos. The boys are excited.” The project was kept all in the family, with other Boy and Bear members making guest appearances.

Along with the release, Hart has also announced a series of shows where fans will be able to experience live the journey that is Milling the Wind.

Thurs 30 Aug
Grace Emily, Adelaide SA

Fri 31 Aug
Ellington Jazz Club, Perth WA

Sat 1 Sep
Newport Balcony, Fremantle WA

Wed 5 Sep
Front Bar & Gallery, Canberra, ACT

Thu 6 Sep
Beav’s Bar, Geelong, VIC

Fri 7 Sep
Workers Club, Melbourne, VIC

Sat 8 Sep
Baby Black Cafe, Bacchus Marsh, VIC

Wed 19 Sep
Lizottes, Kincumber, NSW

Thur 20 Sep
Lizottes, Newcastle, NSW

Fri 21 Sep
The Vanguard, Sydney, NSW

Sat 22 Sep
Yours & Owls, Wollongong, NSW

Sun 23 Sep
The Clarendon, Katoomba, NSW

Thur 27 Sep
Black Bear Lodge, Brisbane, QLD

Fri 28 Sep
The Loft, Gold Coast, QLD

http://youtu.be/sk5Z5mLPrSk

Join Music Feeds on Facebook

monitoring_string = "5ddc797c5ea15f4a20f5b456893873a5"