Image for Yeah Yeah Yeahs To Release New Album – It’s Blitz

Yeah Yeah Yeahs To Release New Album – It’s Blitz

Written by Toby Smith on February 13, 2009

Ready yourself! The third studio album from the Yeah Yeah Yeahs titled It’s Blitz! is set for release in Australia this coming April 10 on Modular.

The follow-up to 2006’s acclaimed Show Your Bones, It’s Blitz! (spelt with an exclamation mark) is the first full-length album from the Yeah Yeah Yeahs in three years.

New York trio Karen O, Nick Zinner & Brian Chase will unveil their all-new & more experimental sound when the lead single “Zero” goes out to media on February 23.

The new LP features 10-tracks and was recorded in numerous rural locations across the US countryside. From El Paso’s 1,700 acre Sonic Ranch studio to a dairy farm in Massachusetts. The trio worked with two producers on It’s Blitz!: long-term producer TV on the Radio’s Dave Sitek (who did the production of the last two LP’s) and Nick Launay (Arcade Fire, Talking Heads, INXS) who record their Is Is EP.   

Producers aside, the band didn’t do everything the same in the recording process. For one thing the band has taken a much more experimental approach, with guitarist Nick Zinner playing a whole lot of vintage synths on this new release.

The album also features a few special guests including Bird and the Bee maestro producer Greg Kurtsin, TV on the Radio’s Tunde Adebimpe and Kyp Malone, and saxophonist Stuart Bogie (Antibalas) among others.

According to the band, It’s Blitz! was inspired by the ’70s disco collaborations between Italian producer Giorgio Moroder and R&B songstress Donna Summer, Joy Division, and, well, Karen O’s love of dancing.

It’s Blitz! is not much like anything you’ve heard from the Yeah Yeah Yeahs before. But does it still sound like the band we have come to love? You bet you’re sweet ass it does!



Join Music Feeds on Facebook

monitoring_string = "5ddc797c5ea15f4a20f5b456893873a5"