Interview: New Empire – “We Want To Tell A Story About Who We Are”

Sydney four-piece New Empire have just kicked off a national run of tour dates in support of their latest record In A Breath, which the band explain is actually their third and not their second studio release. To get some other facts straight, Music Feeds caught up with three members of the New Empire lineup, Jeremy Fowler, Kyle Lane and Kale Kneale.

“In our history as a band, I don’t think we’ve had a more positive response from the fans and it was really encouraging for us because we’ve really gone down a new route when it comes to our musical style,” said Jeremy of the reception to the new record. “We took a few risks so to hear that response was really positive. We can’t be happier.”

Following the success of 2011’s Symmetry, Kyle said their mission this time was to do something different. “For this record we wanted it to be different, a progression from what we were and we wanted it to be really personal and really tell a story about who we are.”

The band say the new record features an array of styles and instruments from across the globe, something they’re excited to translate to the stage. “It’s a really fun process putting together [live] what you’ve already put together on a record,” said Kyle. “Emulating that and doing different things as well. I think it’s a lot of fun, it’s not really stressful.”

Join Music Feeds on Facebook

More Videos

Bad Moon Born‘Alive?’

Miss Blanks‘Good Good D’

Mid City‘Dead Broke Blues’

Wreath (FKA Legions)‘Revolutionary Suicide’

Maribelle‘I’m A Mess Without You’

Alison Wonderland‘Easy’

Papaya Tree‘Radar’

The Word Alive‘Why Am I Like This?’

The Lockhearts‘Little Eden’

Prophets Of Rage: The Heroes The World Needs Right Now

DREAMS‘No One Defeats Us’

Vera Blue‘Lady Powers ft. Kodie Shane.’

monitoring_string = "5ddc797c5ea15f4a20f5b456893873a5"