Angel Olsen Announces New Album ‘Whole New Mess’, Shares Title Track

Angel Olsen has announced new album Whole New Mess – the first she’s recorded solo without any bandmates since 2012’s Half Way Home – will arrive next month.

She’s also shared the title track from the new album, which was recorded in late 2018 at Washington church-turned-studio The Unknown, run by Phil Elverum and Nicholas Wilbur. With just a few guitars and some microphones, isolated in studio, Olsen worked through fresh emotional wounds while grappling with a tumultuous personal time.

“I had gone through this breakup, but it was so much bigger than that – I’d lost friendships, too. When you get out of a relationship, you have to examine who you are or were in all the relationships,” explained Olsen in a statement.

“I wanted to record when I was still processing these feelings. These are the personal takes, encapsulated in a moment.”

Whole New Mess follow Olsen’s excellent 2019 album All Mirrors, and serves as something of a precursor to that record. Multiple tracks from the album including ‘Lark’, ‘Summer’ and ‘Chance’ appear in “some skeletal form” on Whole New Mess, contrasting with the lavish, fully-fleshed out arrangements on All Mirrors.

Watch the video for Whole New Mess’ title track below. The album is out Friday, 28th August via Jagjaguwar.

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more