Bluesfest 2013 Lineup – Official Announcement

Byron Bay’s Bluesfest first lineup announcement traditionally isn’t made public for another 6 weeks, but festival organisers are too excited to keep this impressive collection of musical acts under wraps any longer.

Headlining the five-day festival, which will take place over Easter from March 28 – April 1, 2013, is the returning Ben Harper. A Bluesfest favourite, Festival Director Peter Noble is ecstatic to have Harper back on the bill and explains the special bond between the singer/songwriter and the festival.

“There is something about Ben and Bluesfest that cannot be put into words…to hear him perform at the festival that discovered him is almost an experience approaching mysticism…it is transcendental…you have been warned,” said Noble.

Joining Harper at Bluesfest 2013 is guitar hero Santana, who will be making his very first appearance at Bluesfest. Having been a presence in popular music for over five decades, Santana, along with the Rolling Stones (not appearing at Bluesfest just to be clear) are the only two musical acts to have recorded at least one top ten hit in each decade since the 1960s.

Another major act whose origins reach back to the 60s is Iggy & The Stooges. A band perhaps not immediately associated with ‘the blues’, Iggy & The Stooges’ brand of spaced-out acid punk rock will bring an energetic element to the festival while still keeping within the overall vibe of Bluesfest.

Other acts include the smooth crooning Chris Isaak, Boston celtic punk veterans the Dropkick Murphy’s, and alternative rock act Wilco, plus many more as listed, and remember that this is only the first lineup announcement.

Bluesfest 2013 First Lineup Announcement:

Ben Harper
Iggy & The Stooges
Steve Miller Band
Chris Isaak
Bonnie Raitt
Dropkick Murphy’s
Glen Hansard with The Frames
Tedeschi Trucks Band
Newton Faulkner
William Elliott Whitmore
Frank Turner and The Sleeping Souls
Grace Potter
Playing For Change
Ben Caplan

Second Announcement

Jimmy Cliff
Joan Armatrading
Robert Cray
Trombone Shorty & Orleans Avenue
The Blind Boys Of Alabama
Mavis Staples
Allen Toussaint
Wanda Jackson
Fred Wesley & The New JB’s
Michael Kiwanuka
Bettye Lavette
Luka Bloom
Ruthie Foster
Tony Joe White
Sweet Honey In The Rock
The Duke Robillard Band
Shawn Colvin
Seth Lakeman

Bettye Lavette – Just Announced

Third Announcement

Robert Plant (With Band, The Sensational Space Shifters – ‘Playing Led Zeppelin tracks’ )
Status Quo
Roger Hodgson
Jon Anderson

Fourth Announcement

Counting Crows
Ben Harper (solo)
The Lumineers
Taj Mahal
Shuggie Otis
Kitty Daisy & Lewis
Ben Howard
Tav Falco & The Panther Burns
JD Mcpherson
Royal Southern Brotherhood
Jake Shimbukuro
Damien Dempsey

Fifth Announcement

Jason Mraz
Manu Chao La Venture
Mark Seymour And The Undertow
Chris Smither
Current Swell
Matt Anderson
Go Jane Go Feat. Kieran Kane, David Francey & Lucas Kane
The McMenamins

Sixth Announcement

Ben Harper & Charlie Musselwhite
Zac Brown Band
Manu Chao
La Ventura (Second show)
The Music Maker Blues Revue
Leonardo’s Bride
Nicky Bomba’s Bustamento
Skipping Girl Vinegar
Allen Stone
Kim Churchill
Shaun Kirk
Genevieve Chadwick
Brother Fox

Local Artists Announcement

The Cat Empire
Fat Freddy’s Drop
Xavier Rudd
Rockwiz Live
The Break (Feat. Members of Midnight Oil, Violent Femmes, Hunters & Collectors)
Beasts of Bourbon
Karise Eden
The Bamboos
The Beards
Melbourne Ska Orchestra
The Snowdroppers
King Cannons
Grey Ghost
Busby Marou
The Wilson Pickers
Round Mountain Girls
Hat Fitz & Cara
Mason Rack Band
The Songs of The Haight Ashbury Stage Show
Lil Fi & the Dirty Rascals
Wards Xpress

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more