Coldplay Announce New Album ‘Music of the Spheres’ Will Arrive in October

After returning with lead single ‘Higher Power’ a couple of months ago, Coldplay have confirmed their ninth studio album Music of the Spheres will arrive in October.

The band shared a hand-written note on their Instagram account earlier today confirming the title and release date – Friday, 15th October for the album, which will follow 2019’s Everyday Life.

As with ‘Higher Power’, the whole record was produced by hit machine Max Martin. They also teased two new singles – album closer ‘Coloratura’ will arrive this Friday (23rd July) and another single will be released in September.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Coldplay (@coldplay)

Coldplay have also released an animated trailer for the record titled ‘Overtura’, which combines cosmic imagery with brief clips of each of the album’s 12 tracks. From the preview, it certainly appears the textures of the record will match the intergalactic aesthetic the band have been running with.

When the band released ‘Higher Power’ in May, it was premiered via a link-up to the International Space Station, first being broadcast as a dispatch via “extraterrestrial transmission”.

“‘Higher Power’ is a song that arrived on a little keyboard and a bathroom sink at the start of 2020. It was produced by Max Martin who is a true wonder of the universe,” the band commented at the time.

Watch the trailer for Music of the Spheres and see the album’s tracklist – five songs of which are represented by emoji – below.

‘Music of the Spheres’ tracklist

  1. Higher Power
  2. Humankind
  3. Let Somebody Go
  4. People of the Pride
  5. Biutyful
  6. My Universe
  7. Coloratura

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more