Foo Fighters’ Taylor Hawkins Announces New Band And Album

Foo Fighters drummer Taylor Hawkins has been getting his side project on, today revealing his new band, The Birds Of Satan, who are set to release a self-titled debut this April, as well as dropping a minute long promo video.

Hawkins, who’s previously released two solo albums, plays drums as well as sharing vocal duties in the outfit. The Birds Of Satan is also made up of Wiley Hodgden on bass and vocals, and Mick Murphy on guitar, a line-up you may recognise as Hawkins’ touring cover band Chevy Metal, who pay tribute to acts like Black Sabbath, Van Halen and Queen.

But a cover band The Birds Of Satan ain’t, with the outfit promising that the album contains intricate drum work, a ten minute long opening song, and even a handful of ballads.

The Birds Of Satan, which features appearances from Rami Jaffee, Pat Smear, and Dave Grohl and was recorded in less than a week, is out internationally on 15th April and is available for pre-order now with a free instant download of track Thanks For The Line via iTunes.

Meanwhile, The Foos are expected to release their eighth studio album in 2014, with unconfirmed reports suggesting the band were recording in 12 different studios across 12 different cities last month, citing Steve Albini and Butch Vig as producers on the highly anticipated follow-up to 2011’s Wasting Light.

WATCH: The Birds Of Satan Promo

birds cover

The Birds Of Satan Tracklist

1. The Ballad Of The Birds Of Satan

2. Thanks For The Line

3. Pieces Of The Puzzle

4. Raspberries

5. Nothing At All

6. Wait Til Tomorrow

7. Too Far Gone To See

Must Read