Hear 13 Minutes Of King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard’s New Album ‘Murder Of The Universe’

Prolific psych lords King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard have shared the entire third “chapter” of their upcoming concept album Murder Of The Universe.

The record, which will be the band’s 10th full-length effort, is said to be “concerned with the downfall of man and the death of the planet”, and you certainly get that vibe from its third chapter “Han-Tyumi & The Murder Of The Universe”.

The chapter, which you can stream in full below, is split into six songs, including ‘Vomit Coffin’ (which the band have been playing live recently) and the album’s self-titled track ‘Murder Of The Universe’.

“We’re living in dystopian times that are pretty scary and it’s hard not to reflect that in our music,” says frontman Stu Mackenzie.

“It’s almost unavoidable. Some scientists predict that the downfall of humanity is just as likely to come at the hands of Artificial Intelligence, as it is war or viruses or climate change. But these are fascinating times too.

“Human beings are visual creatures – vision is our primary instinct, and this is very much a visual, descriptive, bleak record. While the tone is definitely apocalyptic, it is not necessarily purely a mirror of the current state of humanity. It’s about new non-linear narratives.”

Murder Of The Universe is set for release on 23rd June, and King Gizzard plan to release a total of five studio albums in 2017, which means there are still three new albums to come later this year.

Stream “Han-Tyumi & The Murder Of The Universe” below, alongside its track list and the full track list for Murder Of The Universe.

Watch: King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – ‘Han-Tyumi & The Murder Of The Universe’

‘Han-Tyumi & The Murder Of The Universe’ Track List

16. Welcome To An Altered Future 0:00

17. Digital Black 0:55

18. Han-Tyumi, The Confused Cyborg 3:42

19. Soy-Protein Munt Machine 6:07

20. Vomit Coffin 6:34

21. Murder Of The Universe 8:53

‘Murder Of The Universe’ Tracklist

Chapter 1: The Tale Of The Altered Beast

01 A New World

02 Altered Beast I

03 Alter Me I

04 Altered Beast II

05 Alter Me II

06 Altered Beast III

07 Alter Me III

08 Altered Beast IV

09 Life / Death

Chapter 2: The Lord Of Lightning Vs. Balrog

01 Some Context

02 The Reticent Raconteur

03 The Lord Of Lightning

04 The Balrog

05 The Floating Fire

06 The Acrid Corpse

Chapter 3: Han-Tyumi And The Murder Of The Universe

01 Welcome To An Altered Future

02 Digital Black

03 Han-Tyumi, The Confused Cyborg

04 Soy-Protein Munt Machine

05 Vomit Coffin

06 Murder Of The Universe

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more