Hear The Avalanches’ New Toro Y Moi Collab ‘If I Was A Folkstar’

Melbourne electro ninjas The Avalanches have peeled off yet another slice of their long, long, long-awaited sophomore LP, Wildflower.

Dubbed If I Was A Folkstar, the Toro Y Moi collab features a brief sample of the radio part from Queens Of The Stone Age’s classic You Think I Ain’t Worth a Dollar, But I Feel Like a Millionaire.

A radio rip has appeared on Reddit overnight following its official triple j premiere, and the foley-laden track is packing breezy, feelgood vibes aplenty.

“This new record feels a bit like a road trip, and we spent a lot of our teenage years driving around in cars in the country and in suburbia listening to music, and that was in our heads making this record as well,” the group told Apple’s Beats 1 radio earlier this month. “For us this record was supposed to capture that feeling.”

If I Was A Folkstar is the latest track to fall off Wildflower – an album 16 years in the making – following the release of lead single Frankie Sinatra, which features rap heavyweights Danny Brown and MF Doom.

The Avalanches’ follow-up to 2000’s Since I Left You also features guests in Father John Misty and Royal Trux’s Jennifer Herrima.

It’s due to land on Friday, 16th July.

Stream its latest cut, If I Was A Folkstar, here.

The Avalanches –Frankie Sinatra

The Avalanches – Wildflower Tracklist

01 The Leaves Were Falling

02 Because I’m Me

03 Frankie Sinatra

04 Subways

05 Going Home

06 If I Was a Folkstar

07 Colours

08 Zap!

09 The Noisy Eater

10 Wildflower

11 Harmony

12 Live a Lifetime Love

13 Park Music

14 Livin’ Underwater (Is Somethin’ Wild)

15 The Wozard of Iz

16 Over the Turnstiles

17 Sunshine

18 Light Up

19 Kaleidoscopic Lovers

20 Stepkids

21 Saturday Night Inside Out

22 Frankie Sinatra (Extended Mix)

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more