Hear Iggy Pop & Josh Homme Debut Their First Collaborative Single ‘Gardenia’ Live On Colbert

Less than 24 hours after dropping the bombshell that they’d secretly recorded a new collaborative album called Post Pop Depression, rock icons Iggy Pop and Josh Homme have delivered their first live performance together.

The pair appeared on Stephen Colbert’s The Late Show to premiere the disc’s first single, Gardenia, live -with a little help from some friends.

The power-duo performed the Bowie-style punk-funk track with accompaniment from Homme’s fellow QOTSA members Dean Fertita and Troy Van Leeuwen, as well as Arctic Monkeys drummer Matt Helders and Chavez’s Matt Sweeney.

Prior to the performance, Pop and Homme also sat down with old mate Colbert to have a gasbag about the new project.

“I proposed [the idea] to [Homme] by text from my flip-phone,” Pop laughed. “I just said, ‘I thought maybe we could write something and record it. I didn’t want it to put it in a box, and neither did he.”

Homme also chatted about what it was like to actually be roommates with Pop during the process: “To see him in a kimono is … it’s just enough to leave something to the imagination. And I’ve got a really good imagination.”

Right after their TV spot, the duo also  shared the studio version of Gardenia, along with the artwork and tracklist for Post Pop Depression online.

And it’s not the only new project that Homme and Pop have been up to together of late. The pair will also star in the upcoming film Gutterdämmerung – “the loudest silent movie on earth” – alongside the late Lemmy Kilmister and a cast of other rock icons, which is slated for release later this year.

Post Pop Depression, meanwhile, is due out on March 18th. Check out Josh Homme and Iggy Pop debuting lead single Gardenia live on Colbert, their pre-performance interview and the studio version of Gardenia, below.

Watch: Iggy Pop & Josh Homme Debut Gardenia

Watch: Iggy Pop & Josh Homme Announce Post Pop Depression

Listen: Iggy Pop & Josh Homme – Gardenia

Post Pop Depression Tracklist

  1. Break Into Your Heart
  2. Gardenia
  3. American Valhalla
  4. In the Lobby
  5. Sunday
  6. Vulture
  7. German Days
  8. Chocolate Drops
  9. Paraguay

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more