Hellions Announce New Album ‘Rue’, Share New Single ‘Smile’

Sydney punks Hellions have announced they will release their fourth album Rue this October, and have also shared a new single titled ‘Smile’.

The follow-up to 2016’s Opera Oblivia will be unleashed on 19th October, after Hellions recorded the album in Thailand with producer and “fifth member” Shane Edwards. Catch the full tracklist and album art, below.

‘Smile’ — the follow-up to previous singles ‘X (Mwah)’ and ‘Furrow’ — is about the effects of “cheap stimulation”, say band members Anthony Caruso and Matt Gravolin.

“The world as we know it wants to be entertained interminably, and now our entertainment often comes at the expense of our compassion,” they say.

“We’ve all found ourselves speaking in blue, snide language about trivial matters that aren’t of any real consequence to us, asserting invalid opinions for the sake of having our voices heard.

“Cheap stimulation is addictive and judgemental thinking can take over involuntarily when so much of our mental space is surrendered to it. We seem to be stuck here despite knowing that this thinking and behaviour isn’t conducive to any lasting happiness.”

Stream ‘Smile’ below.

Hellions ‘Rue’ Tracklist

1. (Blueberry)
2. Odyssey
3. X (Mwah)
4. Smile
5. Furrow
6. (Cocoon)
7. Rue
8. (Theatre Of) (feat. Luna)
9. The Lotus
10. Get Up!
11. Harsh Light
12. 26

Hellions ‘Rue’ Artwork

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more