Here’s The First Taste Of That New Franz Ferdinand and Sparks Supergroup FFS

So Franz Ferdinand and Sparks have launched a joint venture called FFS, and now the supergroup is making their union official in the way that bands do, by announcing a debut album. The self-titled disc has been slated for a June release, and the group have already begun whetting fans’ musical whistles with their first lick of the record via brand new tune, Piss Off (below).

The jaunty Bowie or perhaps Beatles-esque toe-tapper forms the closing number on the forthcoming 12-Track LP, which was produced by Grammy-winner John Congleton (St. Vincent, Modest Mouse, The Walkmen), and is infused by a theatrical sense of humour that sees vocalist Alex Kapranos sing the lyrics “Piss Off!” with a gentleman’s relish.

“If there was a train crash between Franz Ferdinand and Sparks, this is what the wreckage would sound like”, Sparks brother Ron Mael explained in a post on his new band’s official Facebook page.

Initial chats between the two groups about a prospective collaboration reportedly began around the same time that Franz Ferdinand released their 2004 chart-scorcher, Take Me Out. But it wasn’t until 2013 that they actually did something about it. Musicians, ay?

“We approached it the way bands do with their first record,” Franz Ferdinand’s Alex Kapranos said. “We had the songs first, rehearsed them and then recorded it all together, in a room. So no hanging around or fannying about.”

“The real motivation was to make something new, not ‘Franz featuring Russell Mael’, or ‘Sparks with Franz Ferdinand backing them’,” he added.

FFS, the album, is already available for pre-order, and will be released on CD, as a digital download and also as 16-track double vinyl with limited edition double colour vinyl and deluxe CD editions featuring four extra tracks.

FFS the band have already lined up a string of tour dates across Europe and the UK from June. No word yet on whether they’ll be coming Down Under, but their debut record has been slated for its Aussie release on Friday, 5th June, with its first official single to be released later this month.

But for now, Piss Off.

Listen: FFS – Piss Off

FFS Tracklist:

1. Johnny Delusional
2. Call Girl
3. Dictator’s Son
4. Little Guy From The Suburbs
5. Police Encounters
6. Save Me From Myself
7. So Desu Ne
8. The Man Without A Tan
9. Thing I Won’t Get
10. The Power Couple
11. Collaborations Don’t Work
12. Piss Off

Can’t wait to show you what we’ve been working on.

Posted by FFS on Friday, March 27, 2015

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more