In Hearts Wake Announce New Album ‘Skydancer’

In Hearts Wake have finally shared details of their long-teased musical project, Skydancer, which will now see release as an album on 1st May. The full-length is the second half of the band’s secret (well, pretty secret) plans to release an accompaniment to their 2014 album, Earthwalker.

In a statement on Facebook, the band have said, “Today we can finally unveil the secret that we’ve been keeping for the past 18 months. We will be releasing a new full length album titled “Skydancer” on May 1st. “Skydancer” was recorded alongside “Earthwalker” and is the second half of the album project we created in Michigan, late 2013. Everything from the concept, lyrics, tracklisting, album cover and artwork is aligned between the two records.”

Skydancer will be released exactly 364 days after its predecessor. The only clue as to the existence of the unreleased Skydancer material lay in a hidden booklet in Earthwalker‘s CD packaging, which featured a short poem referring to the lyrics of the album’s lead single, Breakaway, which is set to be premiered today on triple j.

The Skydancer album includes the re-recorded version of the former single of the same name (below), featuring Jonathan Vigil of The Ghost Inside. The album also features guest spots from Marcus Bridge of Northlane and J Hurley and Ben Marvin of Hacktivist.

“I’d been searching for a concept that could explain the relationship between the masculine and feminine worlds and how we needed to be at peace with both in order to be whole,” says In Hearts Wake frontman Jake Taylor in a statement.

A documentary capturing the creation of the band’s two latest albums is now available to watch over at the Skydancer project website. In it, Taylor discusses how his childhood affected the album’s thematic base.

“My parents separated when I was about seven, and I was flung into two different worlds: the divine masculine, which was my father, and the divine feminine, my mother… I really felt the difference between the two worlds and how I fit in between then and how I needed both worlds to be me… and I feel that’s the way I am now,” Taylor says.

Skydancer will see In Hearts Wake working in conjunction with Local Futures – a non-profit organisation dedicated to the protection and renewal of ecological and local social well being. Skydancer album pre-orders are expected to be made available via the Skydancer project website tomorrow, along with a music video for Breakaway released at 9am AEDT.

Listen: In Hearts Wake – Skydancer (feat. Jonathan Vigil)

In Hearts Wake – Skydancer Tracklisting

1. Aether
2. Skydancer (feat. Jonathan Vigil)
3. Breakaway
4. Badlands
5. Insomnia
6. Oblivion
7. Wildfire
8. Cottonmouth
9. Erase (feat. Ben Marvin & J Hurley)
10. Intrepid (feat. Marcus Bridge)
11. Father

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more