Jessica Mauboy, Dan Sultan And More To Perform At 2019 National Indigenous Music Awards

Jessica Mauboy, Dan Sultan, Electric Fields and more will take to Darwin Amphitheatre this August 10 to perform as part of this year’s National Indigenous Music Awards.

The nation’s definitive celebration of Australian Indigenous music, this year’s NIMAs also include Gumbaynggirr rapper Tasman Keith, Indigenous choir collective Spinifex Gum, Yorta Yorta soprano Deborah Cheetham, Larrakia nation’s enbi Dancers and Indigenous violinist Eric Avery on its performance lineup.

The announcement follows a huge year for Indigenous musicians in this country, with the NIMAs commending multiple ARIA nominations for Mojo Juju and Sultan, rapper Baker Boy‘s track ‘Cool As Hell’ receiving commercial radio play and Gurrumul winning the Australian Music Prize, along with four ARIAs, for album Djarimirri (Child of the Rainbow).

It’s the NIMAs’ first year since the weekly National Indigenous Music Chart launched, allowing insight into the achievements of Indigenous musicians throughout the year. The chart has cast a spotlight on artists like Mauboy, Busby Marou, Briggs and Thelma Plum along with newer talents such as Kaiit and Tasman Keith.

Nominations for this year’s National Indigenous Music Awards are now open. You can nominate any Indigenous album or single released after June 1, 2018 for inclusion in the awards here. Tickets for the awards are available via The Darwin Entertainment Centre and Darwin Festival from tomorrow, Thursday May 30th.

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more