Megadeth Unleash Heavy New Track ‘Fatal Illusion’

Megadeth have made good on their promise of new material, today unveiling their new track Fatal Illusion online.

A hint at what is to come from their newly-titled new album, Dystopia, due to be released on January 22nd 2016, Fatal Illusion showcases the seminal thrash act’s new lineup, proving founders Dave Mustaine and Dave Ellefson still have it when it comes to picking out suitable talent.

Kicking off with some scratchy pick scrapes and plenty of dissonance to set the tone, it’s not long before bassist Ellefson takes centre stage. The rest of the band then come crashing in with the iconic heavy Megadeth sound, with the new lineup proving they have what it takes to live up to one of the biggest reputations in metal.

Mustaine is at his histrionic best, his layered and aggressive vocals backed up by some astonishing guitar work from Kiko Louriro and the brutal chops of new drummer, Chris Adler, of Lamb Of God.

Sporting everything you could hope for from a Megadeth track, Fatal Illusion shows that despite innumerable line-up changes over the years (most recently with the departure of guitarist Chris Broderick and drummer Shawn Drover), Mustaine and Ellefson are still focused on the same vision that brought them together over 30 years ago. And hey, if it ain’t broke.

The new-look thrash champs are coming to Australia soon for a long-awaited tour, bringing Finnish death metal lords Children Of Bodom along for the ride.

Until that happens, fans are sure to be playing Fatal Illusion on repeat in anticipation. Have a listen here below and stay tuned for more news regarding the new album.

See tour dates and the album’s tracklist below.

Listen: Megadeth – Fatal Illusion

Megadeth 2015 Australian Tour
Supported by Children Of Bodom

Tickets on sale now

Friday, 16th October 2015NEW VENUE
Metro City, Perth
Tickets: Oztix

Sunday, 18th October 2015
Hordern Pavilion, Sydney
Tickets: Ticketek

Monday, 19th October 2015
Festival Hall, Melbourne
Tickets: Ticketmaster

Wednesday, 21st October 2015
Eatons Hill Hotel, Brisbane
Tickets: Eatons Hill Hotel

Dystopia Tracklist

01. The Threat Is Real
02. Dystopia
03. Fatal Illusion
04. Death From Within
05. Bullet To The Brain
06. Post American World
07. Poisonous Shadows
08. Look Who’s Talking
09. Conquer Or Die
10. Lying In State
11. The Emperor
12. Last Dying Wish
13. Foreign Policy (Fear cover)

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more