Image for Mélodie Française: The Jezabels, Megan Washington & Lisa Mitchell Sing In French

Mélodie Française: The Jezabels, Megan Washington & Lisa Mitchell Sing In French

Written by Greg Moskovitch on August 19, 2013

Francophiles and Australian music fans alike can start salivating over Mélodie Française, a new compilation from Original Matters that has the likes of Gossling, The Jezabels, Dappled Cities, Kate Miller-Heidke, Lisa Mitchell and Deep Sea Arcade tackling some iconic French pop songs from artists as diverse as Air and Serge Gainsbourg.

The first single from the comp is a collaboration between Gossling and Oh Mercy, who delivered a seductive and very convincing cover of La minute de silence, modernising the French pop classic. The pair even travelled to Paris to film the track’s video, which you can check out below or stream the track on Deezer.

Also on the roster, The Jezabels dug in the crates to cover the obscure Morgane de toi, originally sung by Paris native Renaud, Dappled Cities tackle Air‘s sultry lounge classic Sexy Boy, and Kate Miller‐Heidke lends her formidable chops to glamour queen Françoise Hardy‘s Il n’y a pas d’amour heureux.

Deep Sea Arcade and Megan Washington take on Bonnie and Clyde, originally recorded by swanky Serge Gainsbourg and bombshell Brigitte Bardot and continuing the theme of sensuality, Lisa Mitchell reinterpreted the Nancy Sinatra classic Bang Bang, plus Katie Noonan paired up with Elixir to cover Edith Piaf‘s Les feuilles mortes (Autumn Leaves).

All of the Aussie artists featured on the compilation worked with French tutors in-studio and via Skype to perfect that smooth Francais delivery and diction, making the recordings undeniably authentic. The artists immersed themselves in French culture and attitude to deliver genuine performances in the studio. Managing Director of Inertia, Colin Daniels, said “This landmark project showcases a serious depth of talent in this country right now.”

Mélodie Française will course through you like a gliding plume of Gauloises smoke, so bring out your inner Francophile and order this sublime compilation of Aussie artists paying tribute to the language of love through iTunes now.

Gossling & Oh Mercy – La Minute De Silence

Mélodie Française Tracklist

1. Gossling & Oh Mercy -­ La minute de silence
2. The Jezabels -­ Morgane de toi
3. Thelma Plum -­ La Vie en rose
4. Dappled Cities -­ Sexy Boy
5. Kate Miller-­Heidke -­ Il n’y a pas d’amour heureux
6. Husky -­ Le Berger
7. Deep Sea Arcade feat. Megan Washington -­ Bonnie and Clyde
8. Lisa Mitchell -­ Bang Bang
9. Big Scary -­ Je t’aime… moi non plus
10. Jinja Safari feat. Okenyo -­ Le temps de l’amour
11. Elixir feat. Katie Noonan -­ Les feuilles mortes
12. Edward Deer ­‐ Belles! Belles! Belles!
13. SoKo & The Walking Who -­ Mini, mini, mini
14. Vance Joy -­ La Mer

Join Music Feeds on Facebook

monitoring_string = "5ddc797c5ea15f4a20f5b456893873a5"