Slipknot Stream Brutal New Album Track ‘Custer’

Slipknot have unveiled the latest track to be taken from their highly anticipated fifth studio album, .5: The Gray Chapter, titled Custer. The track, which follows the release of previous Gray Chapter single The Devil In I and advance track The Negative One, is a propulsive stomp, which harkens to the band’s early output.

Readers can check out a stream of the new track below. Custer opens with the band members discussing the rhythm of the song before a monologue from frontman Corey Taylor, who says in his best radio-announcer voice, “Half alive and stark raving free to malign for encroaching on the purpose of this commercial free interruption. Due to the prolific nature of this statement, listener aggression is advised.”

Fans headed to Soundwave next year can most likely expect the track in the band’s setlists, with guitarist Jim Root telling Music Feeds that the band will start airing their new material during their performances at Knotfest, which we recently found out will be marked by the aroma of camel dung.

Slipknot’s .5: The Gray Chapter is slated for release Friday, 17th October.

Listen: Slipknot – Custer

Photos: Slipknot – Soundwave 2012 Sydney, 26/02/2012

Photos by Olivia Hadisaputra

Check out all of this week’s new music right here!

.5: The Gray Chapter Tracklist

01. XIX
02. Sarcastrophe
03. Aov
04. The Devil In I
05. Killpop
06. Skeptic
07. Lech
08. Goodbye
09. Nomadic
10. The One That Kills The Least
11. Custer
12. Be Prepared For Hell
13. The Negative One
14. If Rain Is What You Want
15. Override (Bonus Track)
16. The Burden (Bonus Track)

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more