The 1975
The 1975 | Credit: Samuel Bradley

The 1975 Announce New Album, ‘Being Funny In A Foreign Language’

English pop-rock outfit The 1975 have officially announced their fifth studio album, Being Funny In A Foreign Language. The record will arrive on Friday, 14th October. Alongside the formal announcement of the album, The 1975 have shared the new single, ‘Part Of The Band’.

Rumblings about a new album from The 1975 began last month after fans found both posters and postcards that listed the title and track listing of the record. Separate posters later appeared, highlighting 7th July as a significant date for the group.

The 1975 release new single ‘Part Of The Band’

As Rolling Stone points out, ‘Part of the Band’ features what seem like stream-of-consciousness lyrics from front person Matty Healy, with a strong focus on self-reflection and growth. The arrangement is dominated by soft swelling violins and acoustic guitars.

The 1975’s new album comes more than two years after their last album, Notes On A Conditional Form. They visited Australia not long before its release as part of the 2020 Laneway Festival tour. The band will make their return to live performance next month with a pair of festival appearances in Japan.

Being Funny In A Foreign Language is set for release on Friday 14th October.

The 1975 – Being Funny In A Foreign Language

  • The 1975
  • Happiness
  • Looking For Somebody (To Love)
  • Part Of The Band
  • Oh Caroline
  • I’m In Love With You
  • All I Need To Hear
  • Wintering
  • Human Too
  • About You
  • When We Are Together

Must Read