The Basics Announce New Album ‘The Age Of Entitlement’

Homegrown rockers The Basics have announced their first studio album since 2009’s Keep Your Friends Close, and they’re calling it The Age Of Entitlement. The album is set to drop this August.

The Basics — that’s Tim Heath, Kris Schroeder and Wally De Backer (aka Gotye) — created The Age Of Entitlement in the iconic Abbey Road Studios in London, but originally weren’t considering recording a new full-length effort.

“We honestly didn’t set out to do anything like an album,” says Schroeder. “We’d actually agreed on playing one single ‘welcome home’ gig, but once that was announced, suddenly there was this great hunger for more from people and from that a feeling that maybe we should record some of these new songs we’d been playing, stuff like To Think Of You and Roundabout.”

As for the album’s apt title, Schroeder admits that the name was pulled from the title of Australian Treasurer Joe Hockey’s infamous speech, but the band say they aren’t aligning themselves with him.

“It’s a clever turn-of-phrase, though – it can mean so many different things to so many different people, while in-and-of itself really nothing at all,” Schroeder says.

“For us, it’s a personal thing – we’re getting a bit older, and our expectations of each other and ourselves has changed. We’re making music for ourselves – that’s our entitlement, I reckon.”

The Age Of Entitlement will be released on 14th August. Album track Hey Rain!, a cover of a song written by Bill Scott in the 1940s, is available to preview now on iTunes, with a teaser trailer, tracklist and artwork for the album available to view, below.

Watch: The Basics – The Age of Entitlement Global Trailer 1

The Basics – The Age of Entitlement Tracklist

1. Whatever Happened To The Working Class?

2. A Coward’s Prayer

3. Roundabout

4. Time Poor

5. Good Times, Sunshine!

6. Every Part Of Me

7. To Think of You

8. Ashleigh Wakes

9. Tunomba Saidia

10. Hey Rain!

11. Feels Like Love

iTunes Bonus Tracks

12. My Old Mate

13. The Lucky Country (Live from the Truck)

Waterfront Edition Bonus Tracks

12. I’m A Woman

13. Gimme Some Lovin’ (Live at the Corner Hotel)

14. Jailbreak (Live at the Corner Hotel)

15. Call It Rhythm & Blues (Live at the Corner Hotel)

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more