Trent Reznor Announces New Nine Inch Nails EP

Trent Reznor has made good on his promise to drop new Nine Inch Nails material before the end of the year, announcing a brand new EP on the way from the industrial rock titans.

Rezdawgs confirmed that a five-song disc, dubbed Not the Actual Events, will be released on December 23rd (just in time for Chrissy).

“It’s an unfriendly, fairly impenetrable record that we needed to make,” Reznor explains in a statement on the band’s official website. “It’s an EP because that ended up being the proper length to tell that story.”

The NIN site also reckons the new tunes will sound “unrecognizable” from Hesitation Marks and Reznor’s recent film work with his frequent collaborator, Atticus Ross, who it also lists as an OFFICIAL MEMBER OF NINE INCH NAILS NOW.

The band’s new material will be available digitally, on one-sided vinyl and as a “physical component”, although the site doesn’t explain exactly what this “physical component” entails, instead offering the vague AF description: “The intention of this record is for it to exist in the physical world, just like you. Choosing this package gets you the digital files and we will ship the proper physical component to your house for you to deal with.”

Right then.

Reznor also announced a 4-LP reissue of The Fragile album, which “contains instrumentals, alternate versions and over an hour of never before heard material from the original fragile recording sessions”.

Catch the official artwork and track listing for NIN’s new EP Not the Actual Events, below.


‘Not the Actual Events’ Track List:

1. “Branches/Bones”

2. “Dear World,”

3. “She’s Gone Away”

4. “The Idea of You”

5. “Burning Bright (Field on Fire)”

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more