Image for Soundwave Promoter AJ Maddah Named Oz Music Industry’s Most Powerful PlayerAMID Power 50 top 20 revealed!

Soundwave Promoter AJ Maddah Named Oz Music Industry’s Most Powerful Player

Written by Sarah Bella on August 2, 2013

The Australasian Music Industry Directory (AMID) have just dropped their Power 50 of 2013, an annual list of music’s top innovators, enablers and powerbrokers, and taking out the top spot this year is none other than promoter extraordinaire AJ Maddah.

The man behind Soundwave, Harvest and the local edition of the Warped Tour, as well as Soundwave Touring and the 3Wise record label, was awarded the honour for pioneering a level of interaction with punters that was previously unheard of in Australia, knocking last year’s winner, Mushroom Group boss Michael Gudinski, into second place.

Maddah today told TheMusic he was shocked and a little bit uncomfortable with the win:

“To be perfectly honest I am shocked and a little bit uncomfortable. To paraphrase Groucho Marx, I do not care to be on any list that would have me at number one. I’m still learning on the job and taking lessons from masters like Michael Gudinski, Frank Stivalla, Carl Nicholas, John Parker, Denis Handlin and Michael Chugg all of whom are more knowledgeable than me and continue to be very generous to me with their time and advice.”

“I’ll keep the spot warm til Michael Gudinski reclaims his rightful place in the next AMID.”

Michael Chugg, executive chairman of Chugg Entertainment, took out the third possie, with the Universal Music Group’s ‘man in Australasia’ George Ash at four and fifth place going to Paul Piticco, who’s responsible for bringing us Splendour In The Grass and Falls Festival. The full list of 50 will be released this Monday, 5th August.

AMID Power 50 2013 – Top 20

1. AJ Maddah
2. Michael Gudinski
3. Michael Chugg
4. George Ash
5. Paul Piticco
6. Jessica Ducrou
7. Richie McNeill
8. Janelle McCarthy
9. Richard Kingsmill
10. Millie Milgate
11. Colin Daniels/Ashley Sellers
12. Danny Rogers
13. Dan Rosen
14. Dennis Handlin
15. Michael Coppel
16. Richard Moffat
17. Nick O’Byrne
18. Peter Noble
19. Matt Gudinski
20. Brett Murrihy

Join Music Feeds on Facebook

monitoring_string = "5ddc797c5ea15f4a20f5b456893873a5"