2015 National Indigenous Music Awards Winners Announced

Shepparton rapper Briggs, singer-songwriter Dan Sultan and former Australian Idol contestant Jessica Mauboy have dominated this year’s NIMAs (National Indigenous Music Awards), which were announced in Darwin over the weekend.

Briggs scored two wins from his five nominations, taking home Album Of The Year for Sheplife and Film Clip Of The Year for Bad Apples, which can be viewed below.

As the ABC reports, Briggs joked during his acceptance speech, saying, “My friend told me if I didn’t win this award, he was going to burn the place down. So Mark, if you’re listening mate, just put the jerry can down.

“The [Bad Apples] film clip was really important to me because it stars my family, so it’s a great win for them and my friends who’ve seen my vision and put it together.”

Dan Sultan and Jessica Mauboy were joint winners of the Artist Of The Year award, after they both garnered an equal number of votes.

Elsewhere, Thelma Plum was awarded Song Of The Year for How Much Does Your Love Cost?, while the National New Talent Of The Year gong went to Mildura rapper Philly, who recently covered a Bob Marley classic for a special NAIDOC Week edition of Like A Version.

Accepting his award, Philly said, “I like to push a message as much as I can, whether it be for kids to chase a dream or issues I see in my community.

“Being nominated really reassured me that I’m headed the right way in my music career, and to be appreciated by my people first and foremost is just something amazing.

“This is what I’m doing it for, I’m doing my music for my people.”

Gurrumul, Frank Yamma, Tiwi Islands band B2M (Bathurst to Melville), Blekbala Mujik and Vic Simms and The Painted Ladies were among the performers at this year’s NIMA ceremony.

Catch the full list of 2015 NIMA winners, below.

Watch: Briggs – Bad Apples

2015 NIMA Winners List

National Artist of the Year

Thelma Plum



Thelma Plum

Jessica Mauboy – JOINT WINNER

National Song of the Year

‘How Much Does Your Love Cost?’ – Thelma Plum – WINNER

‘Young In Love’ – Thelma Plum

‘Bad Apples’ – Briggs

‘Dirty Ground’ – Dan Sultan

‘Black Woman’ – Emma Donovan

National Album of the Year

Briggs – SheplifeWINNER

Emma Donovan and Putback – Dawn

Frank Yamma – Uncle

East Journey feat. Yothu Yindi – The Genesis Project

National New Talent of the Year

Philly – WINNER

Lucky Luke

Tjintu Desert Band

National Cover Art of the Year

Briggs – Sheplife

East Journey feat. Yothu Yindi – Song of Arnhem Land

Radical Son – Cause N AffectWINNER

Frank Yamma – Uncle

National Film Clip of the Year

Dan Sultan – ‘Dirty Ground’

Briggs – ‘Bad Apples’ – WINNER

East Journey – ‘Song of Arnhem Land (Salas/Moore Mix)’

B2M – ‘Parlingarri’

Radical Son – ‘Human Behavoiur’

Community Clip of the Year

Breath In, Breath Out

Produced By: Indigenous Hip Hop Projects was proud to partner with Katherine West Health Board and Bulla Camp

Got a lot Going On – Yarn Safe

Produced By: Indigenous Hip Hop Projects and Indigenous creative agency Gilimbaa

Uncle Alfred’s Mens Group – Spear of Destiny

Produced By: Desert Pea Media

Cairns Murri Crew – Built To Last – WINNER

Produced By: Desert Pea Media

Tagai Buway – Two Worlds

Produced By: Desert Pea Media

Call On Me

Produced by: Indigenous Hip Hop Projects was proud to partner with Broome Regional Aboriginal Medical Service and St. Mary’s College

Hall Of Fame

Vic Simms & Blekbala Mujik

School Band Of The Year

The Karungkarni Band

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more