AC/DC’s Angus Young – Australia’s All-time Axeman

Any kind of list based on the medium of art is always a blast. Even though there’s no way of objectively deciding which band, record, song, etc is the greatest ever, people still love launching into heated debates and attacking each other in a personal manner just for stating a preference.

With that in mind, Australian Guitar Magazine has released their list of the Top 50 Australian Guitarists.

The list sees AC/DC’s Angus Young take out the top spot, followed closely by a top five that includes (in numeric order) Tommy Emmanuel, Ian Moss (Cold Chisel), Chris Cheney (The Living End), and Rick Brewster (The Angels).

AC/DC’s next record will unfortunately be a while yet. Earlier in the year, singer Brian Johnson stated that an illness suffered by one of the band members had delayed writing and recording.

Adding to this extended time frame is guitarist Malcolm Young (who appears on the list at No. 11) who recently told Classic Rock Magazine that the new record will be at least a year or two away.

Another list entree that made headlines recently was Ian Moss (N0. 3) who was forced to delay a Cold Chisel gig after being attacked by his pet cat.

Meanwhile, The Living End’s (Chris Cheney No. 4) manager Rae Harvey was displeased with a cover of the band’s single White Noise, which was performed by Matt Hetherington on singing contest show The Voice.

Thanks to here’s a copy of Australian Guitar Magazine’s ‘Top 50 Australian Guitarist List’

1. Angus Young (ACDC)

2. Tommy Emmanuel (Tommy Emmanuel)

3. Ian Moss (Cold Chisel)

4. Chris Cheney (The Living End)

5. Rick Brewster (The Angels)

6. Slava Grigoryan (Slava Grigoryan)

7, Deniz Tek (Radio Birdman)

8, Jim Moginie (Midnight Oil)

9. Lobby Loyde (Billy Thorpe and The Aztecs)

10. Ross Hannaford (Daddy Cool)

Malcolm Young (ACDC)

Adalita (Magic Dirt)

Marty Willson-Piper

Mick Harvey (Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds & Grinderman)

Tim Rogers (You Am I)

Rowland S Howard (Boys Next Door, Birthday Party)

Ed Kuepper (the Sains, Laughing Clowns, Black Ticket Day)

Spencer P Jones (The Johnnys, Beasts of Bourbon, Spencer P Jones)

Gareth Liddiard (The Drones, Gareth Liddiard)

Brad Shepherd (The Hitmen, Hoodoo Gurus, The Moncharchs)

John Butler (John Butler Trio)

Jeff Lang (Jeff Lang and Chris Whitney)

Kim Salmon (The Scientists, Beasts of Bourbon)

Ash Naylor (Even, Rail)

Tom Lyncolgn (The Nation Blue)

Paul Dempsey (Something for Kate, Paul Demspey)

Jim Skiathitis (The Atlantics)

Blackie (The Hard Ons)

Billy Thorpe (Billy Thorpe and the Aztecs)

Dutch Tilders (Dutch Tilders)

Orem Ambarchi (Orem Ambarchi)

Dave Hole (Dave Hole)

Kevin Borich (Kevin Borich)

Charlie Owen (The New Christs, Beasts of Bourbon, The Divinyls, Tex Perkins and the Dark Horses)

Pete Wells (Rose Tattoo)

Frank Gambale (Chick Corea Electrik Band)

Brett Garsed (John Farnham, Nelson, TJ Helmerich)

Diesel (Mark Lizotte) (Diesel, Johnny Diesel and the Injectors)

Daniel Johns (Silverchair)

Darren Middleton (Powederfinger)

John Williams (John Williams)

Jona Weinhofen (I Killed The Prom Queen)

Joe Robinson (Joe Robinson)

Michael Fix (Michael Fix)

Orianthi (Orianthi)

Phil Emmanuel (Phil Emmanuel)

Keith Urban (Keith Urban)

C W Stoneking (C W Stoneking)

Lloyd Spiegel (LLoy Spiegel)

Geoff Achison (The Souldiggers)

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more