Alex Lahey Releases Surprise EP ‘Between The Kitchen And The Living Room’

Alex Lahey has blindsided – in the best way – fans today with the surprise release of her new EP, Between The Kitchen And The Living Room.

The EP features five much-loved tracks of Lahey’s discography have been reimagined and re-recorded during her time in isolation, with each track being renamed after a room in Lahey’s house.

“A few weeks ago, I found myself with all my plans taken away from me in exchange for more time than I knew what to do with. Looking forward felt too daunting, which made me flustered and upset,” Lahey said in a press statement, “so, I decided to look back.”

Between The Kitchen And The Living Room is a small collection of songs I have already released and played hundreds of times around the world, but through a new lens. In light of having to cancel my US tour, which is supposed to be under way this very moment, I decided to bring these songs home and let them find new parts of themselves.”

“I engineered and produced all of these recordings within a week in a small room in my mother’s house – which is where I have been living since I didn’t continue renting in anticipation of touring for most of the year,” she continued.

“Funnily enough, said room also happens to be the exact place many of these songs were written some years ago.  As much as I can’t wait to go back to all the things I love doing under regular circumstances, it has been nice to embrace the boundaries.”

The release of Between The Kitchen And The Living Room follows the release of Lahey’s standalone single ‘Sucker For Punishment’ earlier this year.

Check out the tracklist, EP artwork and animated video for ‘Let’s Go Out (Bedroom Version)’ below. Stream the EP here.

Between The Kitchen And The Living Room tracklist

  1. Every Day’s The Weekend (Laundry Version)
  2. Let’s Go Out (Bedroom Version)
  3. I Haven’t Been Taking Care Of Myself (Hallway Version)
  4. Unspoken History (Attic Version)
  5. Wes Anderson (Bathroom Version)

Between The Kitchen And The Living Room artwork

Feature Image: Jack Stafford

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more