APRA 2014 Song Of The Year Winner Announced

If having one of the biggest hits of the year and topping the Triple J Hottest 100 wasn’t enough for young James Keogh, better known as the uke-strumming Vance Joy, he’s just won the APRA 2014 Song Of The Year award. The arts law graduate won the prize for his 2013 mega-hit Riptide.

As News Limited reports, Keogh beat out the likes of veterans like Nick Cave and Bernard Fanning, in addition to well-established and respected artists like Boy & Bear and Empire of the Sun to take home the gold. The full shortlist for the APRA Song of the Year award can be viewed over here.

The track, which is currently rising up the charts in the States and will likely enjoy a surge in the UK after Keogh plays Glastonbury this weekend, also took out the Pop Work Of The Year prize. Meanwhile, Sia made history by winning Songwriter Of The Year for the second year in a row.

Watch: Vance Joy – Riptide (Unplugged At Music Feeds Studio)

Gallery: Vance Joy – The Metro, Sydney 15/05/14

Photos by Ashley Mar

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more