At The Drive-In’s Omar Rodriguez-Lopez is Releasing 12 New Solo Albums This Year

Omar Rodriguez-López, guitarist from At the Drive-In and The Mars Volta, has just announced he will be releasing a total of 12 solo albums this year, revealing he will be dropping a solo album every two weeks from Friday 15th July.

Always a prolific artist either with his solo project or various other bands, this is nevertheless an unprecedented amount of releases in such a short time.

Starting next Friday and continuing through to the end of the year, the histrionic guitarist and composer will be releasing the albums through via Mike Patton‘s record label Ipecac Recordings. Who else would be game to release a dozen album in half as many months, especially when they sport some fruity ass titles like Umbrella Mistress, Blind Worms Pious Swine and Cell Phone Bikini.

The albums are all previously unreleased work from Rodriguez-Lopez, and were recorded from 2008 to 2013 while the artist was living in Zapopan, Mexico and El Paso, Texas. Available digitally, Rodriguez-López will also be selling some physical copies at his live shows before they are all eventually collected and packaged into a limited edition CD/LP box set.

The first album in the series is called Sworn Virgins (not a joke about prog fans I’m sure) and – as I mentioned above – is due for release Friday 15th July.

In the meantime why don’t we revisit his video for Agua Dulce De Pulpo here, with all the album titles and the full release schedule included below.

Watch: Omar Rodriguez-LopezAqua Dulce De Pulpo

Omar Rodriguez-López Solo Albums

07-15 Sworn Virgins

07-29 Corazones

08-12 Blind Worms Pious Swine

08-26 Arañas en La Sombra

09-09 Umbrella Mistress

09-23 El Bien Y Mal Nos Une

10-07 Cell Phone Bikini

10-21 Infinity Drips

11-04 Weekly Mansions

11-18 Zapopan

12-02 Nom De Guerre Cabal

12-16 Some Need It Lonely

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more