Christopher Lee Announces Plans For Second Heavy Metal Album

Best known to younger generations for his roles in Star Wars and Lord Of The Rings, actor Sir Christopher Lee has announced plans to release a sophomore album from his outfit Charlemagne, this time composing a straight up and down heavy metal release. It gets better – the album The Omens of Death will drop internationally next Monday, 27th May, which will also mark Lee’s 91st Birthday.

The thespian certainly wasn’t trolling anyone when he first announced plans to partake in the metal scene. Now two albums deep, his musical career has started to gain some momentum. The demand is clearly there if he’s releasing a second album but, as Lee explains, things were done differently this time round:

“The first Charlemagne album is metal, of course, but what I sang was more symphonic. Now, on the second one, The Omens of Death, it is one hundred percent heavy metal. I’ve done my bits and pieces and they are heavy metal. I’m not screaming or anything like that, but it is definitely heavy metal.”

If the collective power of Count Dooku and Saurman weren’t enough for you, the presence of Judas Priest guitarist Richie Faulkner also heavily influenced the album. As Lee describes it, when Faulkner jumped aboard, “Most of the songs were already there, but they needed riffs, drum parts and musical parts that reflected what the guys wanted.”

As it turns out, what ‘the guys’ wanted was a heavy metal album “with an aim to be played live by a band.”

Whether this means the only knight currently making heavy metal might actually be planning to do some life performances. He seems fairly keen on the project, explaining that in the early stages, many of the songs featured just him singing his melodies:

“I remember how surreal it was sitting in my place at the time with Saruman blasting out over the speakers! I have no idea what the neighbors thought.”

Pre-order options are available now through iTunes. You can check out album preview and the tracklist below – those are some seriously metal track names.

Watch: Charlemagne – The Omens Of Death album preview

Charlemagne – The Omens Of Death tracklist

1. ‘The Portent’

2. ‘Charles the Great’

3. ‘The Siege’

4. ‘Massacre of the Saxons’

5. ‘Dawning of a New Age’

6. ‘Let Legend Mark Me as the King’

7. ‘The Betrayal’

8. ‘The Devil’s Advocate’

9. ‘The Ultimate Sacrifice’

10. ‘Judgment Day’

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more