News

Courtney Barnett Wins SXSW Award, Adds More Australian Tour Dates

It’s been a stellar few weeks for Australian troubadour Courtney Barnett, who not only recently dropped her debut full length Sometimes I Sit And Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit, but also was awarded the Developing Act Grulke Prize at Austin’s SXSW 2015.

Past winners of the coveted prize winners include Haim, The Flaming Lips and Blur’s Damon Albarn. According to a statement, it is awarded to artists “who are breaking new ground with their creativity and show the most promise in achieving their career goals.” The Prize is named after SXSW Creative Director Brent Grulke, who died on August 13th 2012.

To celebrate, Barnett has also announced additional shows for her homecoming Australian tour this April and May, to make up for the many that have sold out already. Second show dates have now been added in Adelaide, Perth, Sydney and Melbourne. This follows on from last week, when Barnett also added a Tasmanian show date to her already extensive national tour.

Sometimes I Sit And Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit is out now. See Barnett’s updated tour dates below.

Watch: Courtney Barnett – Depreston

Courtney Barnett – Sometimes I Sit and Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit Album Tour

Supported by Teeth & Tongue

Tickets on sale now, unless sold out.

Friday, 24th April 2015

Wrest Point, Hobart

Tickets: Wrest Point

Thursday, 30th April 2015

The Gov, Adelaide

Tickets: Oztix

Friday, 1st May 2015SOLD OUT

The Gov, Adelaide

Tickets: Oztix

Saturday, 2nd May 2015SOLD OUT

The Bakery, Perth

Tickets: The Bakery

Sunday, 3rd May 2015

The Bakery, Perth

Tickets: The Bakery

Thursday, 7th May 2015

The Metro Theatre, Sydney

Tickets: Ticketek

Friday, 8th May 2015 SOLD OUT

The Metro Theatre, Sydney

Tickets: Ticketek

Saturday, 9th May 2015

The Hi-Fi, Brisbane

Tickets: The Hi-Fi

Thursday, 14th May 2015NEW SHOW

The Forum, Melbourne

Tickets: Ticketmaster

Friday, 15th May 2015SOLD OUT

The Forum, Melbourne

Tickets: Ticketmaster

Saturday, 16th May 2015

The Forum, Melbourne

Tickets: Ticketmaster

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more