Damon Albarn Solo Album ‘Everyday Robots’ Announced

Blur and Gorillaz frontman, Damon Albarn, has revealed the details of his long-awaited debut solo album. Everyday Robots is due to drop internationally on 28th April, with the the singer tweeting that the video for the title track will premiere tomorrow.

Consequence of Sound reports, the 12-track album will be available in a couple of different forms, including as an HD digital album and as a deluxe CD/DVD package, which features live performance footage from Los Angeles. In a May interview with Rolling Stone, in which Albarn also revealed he no longer hates Oasis, the Blur frontman described his solo venture as “sort of folk soul.”

Albarn also released another short and cryptic trailer for Everyday Robots. Following the form of last year’s album teaser, this 22-second video offers just as little detail, featuring moving shots of urban and natural landscapes and ending swiftly with the hashtag #everydayrobots.

It was reported early last year that fans could expect new material from Albarn’s projects, Blur and Gorillaz, but not until his solo efforts has been released. The Blur frontman said the band are working on new songs for an eighth studio album, after they penned two new tracks, Under The Westway and The Puritan for Hyde Park shows in 2012.

Jamie Hewlett of Gorillaz has also spoken about releasing another album with co-project leader Damon Albarn, despite the Gorillaz disbandment in 2012. Just last year Albarn gave fans hope when he unveiled a previously unreleased Gorillaz track titled Whirlwind. While no news of a new album has been announced, Hewlett told fans last year a new record was imminent.

Everyday Robots is due out on 28th April internationally, though no local release date has been announced as of yet. Watch the clip and check out the album’s artwork and full tracklisting below.

Watch: Damon Albarn – #everydayrobots 1

damon albarn artwork

Everyday Robots Tracklist

01. Everyday Robots

02. Hostiles

03. Lonely Press Play

04. Mr Tembo

05. Parakeet

06.The Selfish Giant

07. You and Me

08. Hollow Ponds

09. Seven High

10. Photographs (You Are Taking Now)

11. The History Of A Cheating Heart

12. Heavy Seas Of Love

Everyday Robots DVD Tracklist

01. Track x Track Video (Bundle Only)

02. Everyday Robots (live from Fox studios Los Angeles)

03. Hostiles (live from Fox studios Los Angeles)

04. Lonely Press Play (live from Fox studios Los Angeles)

05. Hollow Ponds (libe from Fox studios Los Angeles)

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more