Download Festival Drops Monster UK Lineup, Australia Waits Its Turn

The UK instalment of annual metal mega-fest Download has just unveiled its first wave of acts for 2017, and it’s enough to have Aussie metalheads licking their lips and/or crapping their pants.

Ya ready?

Next year’s three-day headbangers’ ball at Donington Park will be headlined by none other than System Of A Down, Aerosmith and Biffy Clyro, topping an absolutely mammoth bill which also features the likes of Slayer, Prophets of Rage, Rob Zombie, Five Finger Death Punch, AFI, Of Mice & Men, Sleeping With Sirens, Motionless in White, Simple Plan, Every Time I Die, The Story So Far and Chris Jericho’s Fozzy.

And that’s just the first bloody announcement.

Whether or not Download’s UK lineup reveals any hints as to who we might see gracing the bill at Download’s imminent debut Aussie event remains to be seen, but we’re definitely frothing like Duncan Hills mocha-localypse.


ICYMI: Back in July, Music Feeds revealed that plans are in motion to bring Download Festival to Australia for the very first time,, to fill the void in the Aussie metal festival market left by Soundwave and — just this week — the cancelled Legion Festival.

We’ve also discovered that touring giants Live Nation recently purchased the Australian domain name for Download festival, so it’s exciting times, y’all.

Catch the full first lineup announcement for the UK’s 2017 Download Festival below, and commence waiting position for the Aussie announcement, which is sure to drop in the not-too-distant future.


UPDATE 02/02/17: Download Festival has added 48 new acts to its 2017 lineup. Catch the updated lineup poster below.

12 Bands We Think Could Be On The Download Festival Australia Lineup

Images supplied, or via Getty Images or Facebook

Download Festival 2017 UK Lineup

(Click to expand)

download uk 2017 poster updated

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more