Faith No More Are Re-Issuing Their Seminal Debut Album ‘We Care A Lot’, With Some Juicy Extras

It’s been two-decades since Faith No More’s debut album We Care A Lot has been printed. That’s all about to change come Friday, August 19 with the band re-issuing the long missed record, featuring a healthy dose of extras.

The album’s original 10 tracks have been re-mastered by Maor Appelbaum using a series of reels handed over by bassist Bill Gould who allegedly found them when cleaning up his basement. That, and the whole ’20 years since it was available’ thing seemed like reason enough to re-release the record.

The reels have added seven extra tracks to the album including bonus jams and demo versions of Greed, Mark Bowen, Arabian Disco and Intro. Live versions will also be included, such as renditions of The Jungle and New Beginnings. It wouldn’t be a re-issue without a bunch of old photos, which will be included in the physical release.

It’s hard to imagine a world without Faith No More but up until one faithful day in November 1985 that was totally the case.

“When strangers ask what Faith No More is I’ve always said, ‘Well, it’s kind of an art band…’ I say that mostly to distance us from the hard rock world that we’re often times lumped into. I mean, hard rock, sure, that was part of it, but our roots most definitely and pointedly stem from a specific freakout art time and place in San Francisco, a time thatno longer exists. In 1982, the hippies mingled with the punks, the artists hung out with the musicians, the dance people and the punks were one and the Satanists and the sexual pioneers… all part of the same scene,” Roddy Bottum explains of the original inspiration for the band and We Care A Lot.

“That weird SF window provided a platform from which we were free to express and cultivate a really uniquely odd sound experience. In Los Angeles, no one really cared much, but SF was always super supportive, encouraging us, directly and not, to get our collective freak on.”

Speaking of the climate within and around the band as they whittled away on the album, Bottum continues:

“I can’t remember how long it took us to record the album, but not a lot, maybe a few days. The songs were sharp from having played most of them at various shows. Very stripped down, basic as could be. The place was on a farm in chicken country (Petaluma). Hard work, but a ton of fun too.”

Marvel at the album’s title track and the whole re-issue tracklist below.

Faith No More – We Care A Lot

Faith No More – We Care a Lot Reissue Track List

1. We Care A Lot

2. The Jungle

3. Mark Bowen

4. Jim

5. Why Do You Bother

6. Greed

7. Pills For Breakfast

8. As The Worm Turns

9. Arabian Disco

10. New Beginnings

11. We Care A Lot – 2016 Mix

12. Pills For Breakfast – 2016 Mix

13. As The Worm Turns – 2016 Mix

14. Greed – Original Demo

15. Mark Bowen – Original Demo

16. Arabian Disco – Original Demo

17. Intro – Original Demo

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more