Future Islands Announce New Album ‘Singles’

Baltimore synth-pop outfit Future Islands have announced the release of their fourth studio album and their first for 4AD / Remote Control — having parted ways with Thrill Jockey — titled Singles. Billed as their “boldest and most immediate work to date,” it’s scheduled for a 21st March release.

For Singles, the band — frontman Sam Herring, bassist/guitarist William Cashion, and keyboardist/guitarist/programmer Gerrit Welmers — forged a new creative partnership with producer Chris Coady, known for his work with Beach House, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, and Grizzly Bear.

Ahead of the album’s release, the trio have a series of sold-out shows lined up for LA, New York, London, and Baltimore, making a hefty contribution to their average of 200 shows played a year. The band also have an extensive North American tour starting March, with international dates to follow.

The band have also been announced as one of the acts slated for the epic Coachella 2014 lineup, along with Aussies Flume, Jagwar Ma, Empire Of The Sun, The Preatures, Flight Facilities, and Anna Lunoe, as well as Arcade Fire, Muse, and newly reformed Atlanta hip-hop duo, Outkast.

Album Cover: Future Islands – Singles


Latest on Music Feeds

Load more