Hear Red Hot Chili Peppers’ First Song In Five Years, ‘Dark Necessities’

Red Hot Chili Peppers‘ are back, you guys!

The band have announced the arrival of a brand new album, titled The Getaway, set to be released on June 17th. To sweeten the news, they’ve also unveiled brand spanker track, dubbed Dark Necessities, marking the band’s first song in five freakin’ years, coming after the release of 2011’s I’m With You LP.

And, contrary to popular belief, it isn’t a funkified version of that song from Disney’s The Jungle Book. Rather, it’s a funky, soulful number, which you can stream here below.

We already knew that the Chilis’ newest crop of songs was being produced by Danger Mouse – making it their first record since 1989’s Mother Milk not to be helmed by the legendary Rick Rubin – with Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich behind the mixing desk

Stick some fresh Chilis in your ears below, alongside the album’s artwork and tracklist.

Watch: Red Hot Chili Peppers – Dark Necessities

The Getaway Tracklist:
01. The Getaway
02. Dark Necessities
03. We Turn Red
04. The Longest Wave
05. Goodbye Angels
06. Sick Love
07. Go Robot
08. Feasting on the Flowers
09. Detroit
10. This Ticonderoga
11. Encore
12. The Hunter
13. Dreams of a Samurai

the getawa

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more