Hear Smashing Pumpkins Frontman William Patrick Corgan’s Very Ballady New Solo Single

While Smashing Pumpkins fans continue to await a long-teased reunion of the band’s OG lineup, the band’s frontman AKA William Patrick Corgan is ramping things up on the solo front.

Old m8 Billy’s just announced the forthcoming arrival of his second studio album Ogilala, and unfurled its debut cut ‘Aeronaut’, a sombre piano-driven ballad produced by the legendary Rick Rubin.

Speaking about getting Rubin to helm his sophomore LP, Corgan explains: “For as long as I can remember the delineation point between songs I wrote for myself and songs I’d pen for whatever band was something I couldn’t explain. And it remains so, for they all feel quite personal to me, no matter their time or era.

“The lone difference on songs for Ogilala is that they seemed to want little in the way of adornment,” he continues. “Having written the songs for voice and guitar, I put myself in Rick’s hands to take the music wherever he’d like.

“Normally I would have done more, and tinkered more on production, but rather Rick put the onus on me to deliver at a molecular level via live takes. The rest was simply a reaction.”

Corgan’s Ogilala is due out on Friday, 13th October. You can give his first tune ‘Aeronaut’ a listen below or buy some of the old shit he’s selling at a big-ass garage sale here.

‘Ogilala’ Tracklisting:

1. Zowie

2. Processional

3. The Spaniards

4. Aeronaut

5. The Long Goodbye

6. Half-Life Of An Autodidact

7. Amarinthe

8. Antietam

9. Mandaryne

10. Shiloh

11. Archer

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more