Listen: Death Cab For Cutie’s Ben Gibbard New Track ‘Teardrop Windows’

Death Cab for Cutie frontman Ben Gibbard will be releasing his first solo album Former Lives this October, and has given us a first taste of what to expect for the album. The track, named Teardrop Windows, is a classic Gibbard track: acoustic with a slight country twang to it. It does feel a little out of place to be a Death Cab song, which is why he’s releasing this album in the first place.

The album has 12 songs that were written and performed over his career, but were previously unreleased. Recorded at Aaron Espinoza’s (Earlimart) studio, The Ship, Gibbard explains the need to do something separate from his normal DCFC duties. “It wasn’t a goal and it certainly wasn’t a reaction to any sort of dissatisfaction to recording with Death Cab or anything like that,” Gibbard told Stereogum, adding: “In the past whenever I’ve put out any solo recordings it’s just been of a function of the time in which I was in. I’m a songwriter and that’s my job, and with every record that we’ve made there would always be a couple of tunes that just didn’t seem to fit in with the band.”

Previously we heard a new track named Ichiro’s Theme, which pays tribute to professional baseball player Ichiro Suzuki, who was traded from the Seattle Mariners to the New York Yankees; however, it won’t appear on this album.

Ben Gibbard Former Lives Tracklist

1. Shepherd’s Bush Lullaby

2. Dream Song

3. Teardrop Windows

4. Bigger Than Love

5. Lily

6. Something’s Rattling (Cowpoke)

7. Duncan, Where Have You Gone?

8. Oh, Woe

9. A Hard One to Know

10. Lady Adelaide

11. Broken Yolk in Western Sky

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more