Photo: Matt Johnson

Matt Corby And Dann Hume Have Won The Vanda & Young Songwriting Competition

The results of the Vanda & Young songwriting competition for 2019 have been revealed, and judges have awarded Matt Corby and Dann Hume’s song ‘Miracle Love’ the top prize. The track is taken from Corby’s second album Rainbow Valley, co-written and produced with Hume, who will share in the $50,000 cash prize.

This song was a special one for Matt and I, one of the first songs we wrote together after a few years between his albums,” said Hume about the track. “No idea what would come, when it was finished it felt like it had always existed and we just happen to find it buried in the backyard studio of his house.”

“We are so grateful that such a positive song burrowed into the hearts and ears of our peers and genuinely humbled by this moment,” add the two songwriters.

The second place prize has gone to Melbourne-born, LA-based songwriter Sarah Aarons for co-writing the song ‘The Middle’, a single performed by Zedd, Maren Morris and Grey. She’ll take home $10,000 for her contribution.

Third place went to Brisbane artist Sahara Beck for her track ‘Here We Go Again’, written with producer Tony Buchen.

In 3rd place and the winner of $5,000 courtesy of Aon is Brisbane’s Sahara Beckwith ‘Here We Go Again’ a song the award-winning independent artist wrote with producer Tony Buchen.

“To have been acknowledged in this way for an art form, for something that I love and have put so much of my time and energy into – it is the highest honour,” said Beck about receiving the prize. “In the time Tony and I worked together he pushed me harder than anyone had before and I’m so proud of what we have created together. This prize will allow me to continue to write and produce more of my music.”

Finally, the $5,000 Unpublished prize for the best song by an entrant not signed with a music publisher has been awarded to 21-year old Melbourne singer-songwriter Kaiit for her track ‘Miss Shiney’, co-written with Michael Lee Chan, Mohamed Komba, Vincent Goodyer and Nicholas Martin.

“So thankful to have won this award for literally MY WORDS; words on things I have gone through, felt, needed to express, and being recognised for that, I’m so appreciative,” she commented upon winning the honour.

The winning songs were picked from a top 40 finalist shortlist and an overall pool of over 3600 entries. You can listen to a playlist of the top 40 on Spotify or Apple Music.

Must Read