Image: Facebook

Northlane, The Amity Affliction & More Unite For Silverchair Tribute Album

A bunch of Australia’s biggest heavy bands are uniting for a huge tribute album to mark 20 years since the release of Silverchair‘s second studio album, Freakshow.

The likes of Northlane, The Amity Affliction, Hands Like Houses, Tonight Alive and In Hearts Wake will release Spawn (Again): A Tribute To Silverchair on 17th November, after getting the Silverchair team’s blessing for the record.

The album will see the bands recreate some of Silverchair’s biggest hits, and the first single lifted from the release has already arrived, in the form of Northlane’s cover of ‘Anthem For The Year 2000’.

“‘Anthem For The Year 2000′ was the first Silverchair song I ever heard,” says Northlane guitarist Jon Deiley.

“To me as a young kid, it was intense and heavy and it wasn’t ’til a few years later that I really began to appreciate the impact their music had on me at an early age.

“I think Australia’s love for Silverchair runs deep and their influence on Australian music is still felt today. There’s very few bands who can bring together artists to celebrate their work, and Silverchair is one of them.”

Stream Northlane’s cover of ‘Anthem For The Year 2000’ below, alongside the full tribute album tracklist.

Spawn (Again): A Tribute To Silverchair is being released by UNFD, and is currently up for pre-order.

‘Spawn (Again): A Tribute To Silverchair’ Tracklist

1. The Amity Affliction – Tomorrow

2. Void of Vision – Israel’s Son

3. In Hearts Wake – Freak

4. The Brave – Cemetery

5. Northlane – Anthem For The Year 2000

6. Hands Like Houses – Ana’s Song (Open Fire)

7. Ocean Grove – Spawn (Again)

8. Storm The Sky – Emotion Sickness

9. Tonight Alive – Without You

10. Columbus – Straight Lines

Must Read