PREMIERE: Matt Okine’s Boilermakers Project Returns With New Single ‘Blame Me’

Comedian and radio host Matt Okine, has announced details around the debut EP for Boilermakers, his musical side project, aptly titled 2021.

The EP will be five tracks long and is preceded by the first Boilermakers single in four years, ‘Blame Me’, premiering today exclusively on Music Feeds.

“‘Blame Me is a straight-up flex track over a mean instrumental I got from Fossa Beats. I wanted to be bold with it – in-your-face, tongue-in-cheek,” Okine tells Music Feeds.

“An opportunity to show people that between making TV shows, doing radio, writing books, and making kids music, I can do this rap thing seriously.”

Of course, Boilermakers isn’t the only musical project Okine has dipped his toes into recently. Last year saw the emergency of Diver City, in collaboration with KLP. Diver City is a children’s music act, and their debut album Welcome To Diver City earned them an ARIA nomination last year for ‘Best Children’s Album’.

In addition to the song today, Okine has also delivered an effective, no-bullshit music video, which apparently came together quite quickly.

“The video was conceived organically and it’s exactly how I’d imagined it from the start. I’d been in the studio with KLP filming clips for our latest Diver City album and we happened to finish early,” Okine said.

“I asked the Made In Katana crew if I could quickly film something for Boilermakers. Tom Cotton was directing and Kate Cornish was behind the camera and it was a massive vibe from the minute we pressed play. We filmed the whole clip in 45min. Then Kate and Tom added their magic touch to it. There isn’t a narrative to this clip because there doesn’t need to be. The narrative is – I’m back releasing music, I’m having fun doing it, and there’s more on the way.”

The majority of the EP was produced by Siyoni and Fossa Beats, though the EP’s final track ‘Brown Skin, Nice Shirts’ was produced by Okine himself.

2021 EP is out Friday, 11th June.

Watch the music video for ‘Blame Me’ below.

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more