Refused Announce First New Album In 17 Years, Touring Australia “Early Next Year”

Refused are fucking alive! It’s been almost two decades since Refused released their last LP, The Shape Of Punk To Come.

Most of the kids who snapped up the 1998 album when it first came out probably have kids of their own now. And this year, both generations will be able to enjoy the hardcore stylings of the Swedish punks because they’re releasing a brand new album, dubbed Freedom.

The fresh new slab of Refused goodness has been slated for an “end of June” release, and is led by brand-new single, Elektra, which is available for streaming right now.

Freedom was produced by Nick Launay (Arcade Fire, Kate Bush, Nick Cave), with the exception of Elektra and Track 8, 366, which were helmed and co-written by Swedish pop super-producer Shellback, whose CV includes Taylor Swift, Britney Spears and P!nk.

“It’s not a reunion anymore,” frontman Dennis Lyxzén said in a statement. “This is one of the most radical things we’ve ever done, both musically and lyrically.”

“Nobody wanted us to fuck with the image of the band who makes a great album and splits up,” added drummer David Sandström. “Nobody wanted us to dilute it. That actually provoked us.”

Refused broke up just months after releasing their seminal 1998 album, and the incoming onslaught of new material follows their 2012 reunion, which saw the band bring their live show to Australia.

And it looks like they’re set to do the same in 2016, with group revealing to triple J that they’re keen to return to our shores very soon.

“Of course there are plans to come back – I love Australia!” Lyxzén told the broadcaster.

“Those shows were phenomenal and we had such a good time, so we’re planning for Australia I would say early next year – that’s the plan.”

And yep, that puts them here pretty much bang-on Soundwave O’Clock, with promoter Maddah already confirming there’s a good chance we’ll see the band on the Soundwave 2016 bill. Fingers crossed.

Listen: Refused – Elektra

Gallery: Refused @ The Palace, Melbourne 2012 / Photos By Anwar Rizk

Freedom Track Listing:

1. Elektra

2. Old Friends / New War

3. Dawkins Christ

4. Françafrique

5. Thought Is Blood

6. War On The Palaces

7. Destroy The Man

8. 366

9. Servants Of Death

10. Useless Europeans

Elektra is the first song we’ve released in 17 years and the first song from our new album Freedom. Listen to it now on…

Posted by Refused on Monday, April 27, 2015

Our new album FREEDOM will be available via Epitaph Records end of June (release date varies by territory).Pre-order FREEDOM:

Posted by Refused on Monday, April 27, 2015

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more